Four Plays

Four Plays

by Eugene O'Neill

NOOK Book(eBook)

$6.49 $6.99 Save 7% Current price is $6.49, Original price is $6.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Contained within this volume are some of the best of O’Neill’s early one-act plays, which foreshadowed the longer plays that have given this dramatist his most enduring fame. “Beyond the Horizon” was the first of O’Neill’s three Pulitzer Prize-winning plays. It follows the disappointed dreams of two brothers on their family farm. “The Emperor Jones” is an expressionistic transformation of a black man named Brutus Jones. In fleeing from his rebelling subjects in the West Indies, Jones is taken back to his racial past and undergoes a night of personal destruction. In “Anna Christie”, we find a drama focusing on the relationship of a young woman and her sailor father, who has not seen her for twenty years. As their story unfolds, Anna’s troubled romantic past comes to light, and the hardships of women during that time period become as apparent as the power of forgiveness and love. In the final play in this collection, “The Hairy Ape”, a ship’s fireman becomes disillusioned concerning the work he performs in a society that is quickly industrializing and taking a heavy human toll. This edition includes a biographical afterword.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781420968026
Publisher: Publishing
Publication date: 03/20/2020
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
File size: 3 MB

Customer Reviews