For Love and Laughter

For Love and Laughter

by SolasSolas


$17.38 $17.99 Save 3% Current price is $17.38, Original price is $17.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, April 23


Few Irish bands that are as deeply rooted in Celtic tradition as Solas is manage to rock anywhere near as hard as they do. It's not just that they play with vigor and power -- it's that they rock. On their eighth album of new material (and first with singer Mairéad Phelan) they focus, as usual, on traditional tunes and songs, investing everything with their trademark blend of off-handed virtuosity and joyful energy, and they throw in a few subtle curveballs as well -- such as a lovely arrangement of Rickie Lee Jones' "Sailor Song," and another of an old Dillards number called "There Is a Time." Hipster string band the Duhks join in for a couple of tracks as well. But while there are no weak tracks on this album, its most thrilling moments turn out to be the most traditional (or at least traditional-sounding) ones: a stunning rendition of "The Gallant Hussar," the spectacular reel set that opens the program, and a pair of original jigs by bandleader Seamus Egan and guitarist Eamon McElholm. The exception to that rule is a drop-dead gorgeous modern song called "Merry Go Round," a tune that is not especially Celtic in feel but that fits beautifully into the program anyway. Phelan's voice is quite different from that of original singer Karan Casey -- it's a bit darker and grainier, and it brings a nice new facet to Solas' established sound.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/26/2008
Label: Compass Records
UPC: 0766397449029
catalogNumber: 4490
Rank: 78495


  1. Eoin Bear's Reel/Tune for Sharon/The Rossa Reel
  2. Seven Curses
  3. Tilly's Jig/The Happy Traveler
  4. Mollaí Na Gcuachi Ní Chuilleanáin
  5. Merry Go Round
  6. Sunday's Waltz/Solo Double Oh
  7. Vital Mental Medicine/The Pullet
  8. Sailor Song
  9. There Is a Time
  10. John Riordan's Heels/Hoban's White House/The Lisnagun Jig
  11. The Gallant Hussar
  12. My Dream of You

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Solas   Primary Artist
John Anthony   Percussion,Drums,Snare Drums,Bodhran,Guest Appearance
Dirk Powell   Acoustic Bass,Guest Appearance
Winifred Horan   Fiddle,Viola,Vocal Harmony
Chico Huff   Acoustic Bass,Guest Appearance
Tania Elizabeth   Fiddle,Background Vocals,Guest Appearance
Mick McAuley   Guitar,Vocals,Button Accordion
Eamon McElholm   Guitar,Piano,Hammond Organ,Vocals
Jordan McConnell   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Guest Appearance
Leonard Podolak   Banjo,Guest Appearance
Scott Senior   Percussion,Guest Appearance
Natalie Haas   Cello,Guest Appearance

Technical Credits

Rickie Lee Jones   Composer
John Anthony   Engineer
Ivan O'Shea   Engineer
Dirk Powell   Engineer
Winifred Horan   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Eamon McElholm   Composer
Antje Duvekot   Composer
Pete Rydberg   Engineer

Customer Reviews