For Girls Who Grow Plump in the Night

For Girls Who Grow Plump in the Night

by CaravanCaravan


$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


After the musical uncertainty of Waterloo Lily, Caravan returned with their most inspired recording since In the Land of the Grey and Pink. The splendidly titled For Girls Who Grow Plump in the Night is several steps ahead in terms of fresh musical ideas that wholly incorporate the band's trademark humor within the otherwise serious and challenging sonic structures. Two of the more dominant reasons for the change in Caravan's sound were the return of keyboardist Dave Sinclair and the addition of violist Peter Geoffrey Richardson. Die-hard fans gladly welcomed Sinclair back, however, Richardson was met with heckles from enthusiasts during live appearances. They were soon silenced as his place on For Girls Who Grow Plump in the Night easily ranks among Caravan's watershed moments. There are perhaps none better than the mesmerizing counterpoint melodies he weaves during the "L'Auberge Du Sanglier" suite. While not completely abandoning their jazz leanings, For Girls Who Grow Plump In The Night is considerably focused back into the rock genre. Ironically, the album also features some rather elaborate orchestration. In context, it is quite effective in creating emphasis -- especially on the leadoff track "Memory Lain, Hugh," as well as the dreamy mid-tempo "The Dog, The Dog, He's At It Again." The remastered CD also includes five additional tracks. The first four are demos featuring the band without orchestra and with some notable differences, such as the distinct lead guitar opening to "Memory Lain, Hugh." "Derek's Long Thing" is another instrumental piece penned by keyboardist Derek Austin -- one of the two transitional Caravan members chosen to replace Steve Miller. A must-own for inclined parties.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/22/2005
Label: Polygram Uk
UPC: 0042288298021
catalogNumber: 882980
Rank: 26115

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Caravan   Primary Artist,Track Performer
Tony Coe   Clarinet,Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Wind
Henry Lowther   Trumpet,Horn
Rupert Hine   Synthesizer
John G. Perry   Synthesizer,Bass,Percussion,Piano,Bass Guitar,Electric Piano,Vocals
John Beecham   Trombone
Paul Buckmaster   Cello,Electric Cello
Michael Cotton   Trumpet
Richard Coughlan   Percussion,Drums,Timpani
Martyn Ford   Conductor
Jimmy Hastings   Flute,Conductor,Wind,Soloist
Pye Hastings   Guitar,Vocals
Peter King   Flute,Alto Saxophone,Wind
Harry Klein   Clarinet,Baritone Saxophone,Wind
Jill Pryor   Vocals
Chris Pyne   Trombone
Frank Ricotti   Percussion,Conga
Geoff Richardson   Guitar,Violin,Vocals
Barry Robinson   Flute,Piccolo,Wind
Dave Sinclair   Organ,Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards,Electric Piano
Tommy Whittle   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone,Wind

Technical Credits

Caravan   Arranger
John Burns   Engineer,overdub engineer
Martyn Ford   Arranger,Musical Director,Orchestral Arrangements
Kevin Fuller   Engineer,Remixing
David Grinsted   Engineer
Jimmy Hastings   Arranger,Brass Arrangment,Woodwind Arrangement
David Hitchcock   Producer
Lindsay Kidd   Engineer,Overdub Assistant
John Punter   Engineer,Remixing
Derek Varnals   Engineer
John Tracy   Liner Notes
Phil Smee   CD Package Design,Packaging
Mark Powell   Liner Notes,Tape Research
Mark Lawrence   Cover Design

Customer Reviews