Pub. Date:
Following the Curve of Time: The Legendary M. Wylie Blanchet

Following the Curve of Time: The Legendary M. Wylie Blanchet

by Cathy Converse

NOOK Book(eBook)

$7.99 $8.99 Save 11% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $8.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Who was this skipper, this mother, this writer? These questions motivated Cathy Converse to re-trace the route of famous pacific seafarer M. Wylie Capi Blanchet, and write a biography in the process. Widowed in 1926, Blanchet cruised the coast with her five children and their dog in a 25-foot boat that had been rescued from the seafloor. The Curve of Time, Blanchet's resulting book, remains a bestseller and a classic in the annals of nautical literature, but little is known about the rest of her life. Converse offers insiders' recollections of this enigmatic woman, along with updated information about the villages, inlets and islands described in Curve, making Following the Curve of Time essential reading for anyone who has ever been captivated by the West Coast or Capi herself.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781926741901
Publisher: TouchWood Editions
Publication date: 02/01/2011
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 192
Sales rank: 643,895
File size: 5 MB

About the Author

Cathy Converse is the author of Following the Curve of Time and Mainstays: Women Who Shaped BC, the co-author of The Remarkable World of Frances Barkley, and the co-editor of In Her Own Right: Selected Essays on the History of Women in BC. She is a founder of the Camosun College Women’s Studies curriculum and ancillary programs, and a former department chair and instructor. Cathy is also Auntie Vie’s neighbor.

Visit Cathy online at

Table of Contents

Aknowledgements vii

Areas Covered

Vancouver Island xi

Princess Louisa Inlet xii

Desolation Sound xiii

Broughton Archipelago xiv

Knight Inlet xv

Preface 1

Introduction: Capi Blanchet and The Curve of Time 3

Chapter 1 Capi's Early Life 11

Chapter 2 After Geoffrey's Death-Preparing for Cruising 65

Chapter 3 Cruising Princess Louisa Inlet and Desolation Sound 91

Chapter 4 Cruising Beyond Desolation Sound 107

Chapter 5 Life after the Caprice 161

Chapter 6 Capi's Children 177

Epilogue 184

Endnotes 187

Selected Bibliography 198

Index 205

Customer Reviews