Folk Singer

Folk Singer

by Muddy Waters Muddy Waters
Folk Singer

Folk Singer

by Muddy Waters Muddy Waters




Muddy's "unplugged" album was cut in September of 1963 and still sounds fresh and vital today. It was Muddy simply returning to his original style on a plain acoustic guitar in a well-tuned room with Willie Dixon on string bass, Clifton James on drums, and Buddy Guy on second acoustic guitar. The nine tracks are divvied up between full rhythm section treatments with Buddy and Muddy as a duo and the final track, "Feel Like Going Home," which Waters approaches solo. What makes this version of the album a worthwhile buy is the inclusion of five bonus tracks from his next two sessions: An April 1964 session brings us Willie Dixon's "The Same Thing" and Muddy's "You Can't Lose What You Never Had," while the October 1964 session features J.T. Brown on sax and clarinet on "Short Dress Woman" and "My John the Conqueror Root," as well as "Put Me in Your Lay Away," another strong side. Folk Singer offers both sides of Muddy from the early '60s.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/27/1999
Label: Chess
UPC: 0008811202729
catalogNumber: 12027
Rank: 24333


  1. My Home Is in the Delta
  2. Long Distance Call
  3. My Captain
  4. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl
  5. You're Gonna Need My Help
  6. Cold Weather Blues
  7. Big Leg Woman
  8. Country Boy
  9. Feel Like Going Home
  10. The Same Thing
  11. You Can't Lose What You Never Had
  12. My John the Conqueror Root
  13. Short Dress Woman
  14. Put Me in Your Lay Away

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Muddy Waters   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
James Cotton   Harmonica
Willie Dixon   Bass
Buddy Guy   Guitar
J.T. Brown   Clarinet,Tenor Saxophone
Francis Clay   Drums
Clifton James   Drums
Sammy Lawhorn   Guitar
S.P. Leary   Drums
Milton Rector   Bass
Otis Spann   Piano
James "Pee Wee" Madison   Guitar

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Producer
Mary Katherine Aldin   Liner Notes
Ralph Bass   Producer,Liner Notes
Ron Malo   Engineer
Andy McKaie   Reissue Producer
McKinley Morganfield   Composer
Bob Schnieders   Liner Notes
Vartan   Art Direction
Johnny Temple   Composer
Erick Labson   Remixing
Don Bronstein   Artwork,Cover Design
Meire Murakami   Reissue Design
Beth Stempel   Reissue Producer,Reissue Production Coordination
Johnny Lee   Reissue Design

Customer Reviews