Folk Masters

Folk Masters


$17.30 $17.99 Save 4% Current price is $17.3, Original price is $17.99. You Save 4%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


This 22-cut sampler culled from the Folk Masters radio show series reflects the program's openness -- bluegrass, klezmer, classic gospel, Western swing, mountain music, blues, Cajun, and traditional jazz are represented, as well as international styles and conjunto. It is a quick musical education and one that should forever shatter stereotyped notions about what does and does not constitute folk music.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/14/1993
Label: Smithsonian Folkways
UPC: 0093074004722
catalogNumber: 40047
Rank: 158810

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Johnson Mountain Boys   Track Performer
Dewey Balfa   Fiddle,Track Performer
Johnny Gimble   Fiddle,Mandolin
Santiago Jimenez   Accordion,Vocals,Track Performer
Wayne Henderson   Track Performer
Willie Colón   Guitar
Sonny Burgess   Electric Guitar
Michael White   Clarinet,Track Performer
Louis Cottrell   Drums
Leon Rausch   Vocals
Tom Adams   Banjo
Klezmer Plus   Track Performer
Robert Lockwood   Electric Guitar,Track Performer
Birmingham Sunlights   Track Performer
Tamburitza Ensemble   Track Performer
Sid Beckerman   Clarinet
Christine Balfa   Triangle
Tony Balfa   Rhythm Guitar
Classie Ballou   Bass
Fontella Bass   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Keter Betts   Upright Bass
Boozoo Chavis   Accordion,Vocals
Jesse Castillo   Bass
John Cephas   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Charles Chavis   Frottoir
Rellis Chavis   Drums
James Chirillo   Electric Guitar
Dudley Connell   Guitar,Vocals
D.J. Fontana   Drums
Nathaniel Fontenot   Rhythm Guitar
Carl Jones   Flute,Saz,Drums
Stan Kessler   Electric Bass
Freddie Lonzo   Trombone
Cookie Martinez   Drums
David McLaughlin   Mandolin
Jerry Ontiberoz   Drums
Herb Remington   Steel Guitar
Steve Riley   Accordion,Vocals
Anthony Roberts   Trombone
Pete Sokolow   Keyboards
Eddie Stubbs   Fiddle
Barry Taylor   Bass (Vocal)
Carlton Thomas   Guitar
Toby Torres   Bass,Vocals
Willie Torres   Percussion
Phil Wiggins   Harmonica,Track Performer
Claude "Fiddler" Williams   Electric Violin,Track Performer
Wayne Williams   Tenor (Vocal)
Earl Yager   Bass
Led Kaapana   Slack Key Guitar
Fernando Cellicion   Drums,Vocals
Jaime Colon   Bongos
Florentine Johnson   Vocals,Rattle
Oswaldo Munoz   Conga
Alton Nastacio   Vocals,Rattle
Paul Burlison   Electric Guitar
Joseph Chambers   Trombone
Henry Cleveland   Trombone
Emma Colon   Guiro
Bill Dessens   Rhythm Guitar
Frank Field   Bass
James Freeman   Bass Drums
Antoine Gardner   Drums
Sadie Goodson   Piano
Jim Gough   Electric Bass
Jerry Grcevich   Prima
Randy Greer   Mandolin
Ernie Hunter   Fiddle
Misko Jurkovich   Bugarija
Joe Kirin   Vocals,Brac
Howie Leess   Saxophone
Glen Lewis   Trombone,Vocals
Lloyd Mays   Trombone
John McKennas   Cello
Lawrencs McKiver   Leader,Vocals
Norvus Miller   Trombone
Norvus Miller   Trombone,Leader
Purcell R. Miller   Trombone
Joe Modrich   Brac
Rapper D   Drums
Benjamin Reed   Vocals
Henry Sapoznik   Banjo
H. Shepherd   Trombone
Perry Smith   Trombone
Virgil Smith   Vocals
Michael Spielzinger   Drums
Greg Stafford   Cornet,Vocals
Marick Stewart   Baritone
Darren Strouse   Sousaphone
Sidney Wiggins   Trombone
Ron Zivic   Bass
Sun Rhythm Section   Track Performer
Texas Playboys   Track Performer
Wayne C. Henderson   Guitar
Javier Aguilar   Marimbas
Steve Taylor   Baritone (Vocal)
Cellicion Family Singers   Track Performer
McIntosh County Shouters   Track Performer
Ernesto Aguilar   Marimbas

Technical Credits

Johnson Mountain Boys   Contributor
Dewey Balfa   Contributor
Fontella Bass   Arranger
Nick Spitzer   Director,Producer,Liner Notes
John Tyler   Engineer,Remixing
Bruce Talbot   Executive Producer
Kate Campbell   Contributor
Thelma Ellison   Contributor
Jerry Grcevich   Contributor
Misko Jurkovich   Contributor
Arturo Santiago   Contributor
Anthony Seeger   Executive Producer
Carletha Sullivan   Contributor
Odessa Young   Contributor
Carol Hardy   Cover Design
Vertie McKiver   Contributor
Doretha Skipper   Contributor
Claudia Telliho   Art Direction
Elizabeth Temple   Contributor
Traditional   Composer
Joe Primrose   Composer

Customer Reviews