Finding Joseph I: An Oral History of H.R. from Bad Brains

Finding Joseph I: An Oral History of H.R. from Bad Brains


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A thoroughly uncensored rollercoaster ride through the riotous, tumultuous and utterly singular life and career of one of rock's most enigmatic singers—now updated with new material and a new foreword by Randall J. Blythe of Lamb of God.

A Rough Trade Book of the Year (2017)

“Must-read for any fan of both Bad Brains and their enigmatic vocalist” No Echo

This gripping oral history features H.R. himself and the people who know him best, including Ian MacKaye, Questlove and members of Sublime and the Deftones.

The spiritual leader of Bad Brains was one of the most iconic and legendary front men in punk rock and hardcore. Paul "H.R." Hudson launched his unique, ferocious vocal assault and dynamic physical showmanship with love and Rasta in his heart, along with a hopefulness seldom found in punk. His journey has been riddled with unprecedented volatility: drugs, violence, disappearances and a debilitating mental illness. The disorder was so powerful—and the suffering so severefithat it's difficult to fathom how he even survived. How could one so tremendously troubled produce such an incredible body of work and have made such an impact?

Finding Joseph I features interviews with H.R.'s family, bandmates, friends, and those he has influenced and inspired. Interviewees include members of Bad Brains, Guns N' Roses, Black Flag, Living Colour, 311, Fishbone, the Wailers, Cro-Mags, Dead Prez, Murphy's Law, P.O.D., Michael Franti & Spearhead and many more. Packed with many rare and never-before-seen images, Finding Joseph I is the definitive account of the punk rock icon.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781642931952
Publisher: Post Hill Press
Publication date: 07/23/2019
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 467,189
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.70(h) x 0.60(d)

About the Author

Howie Abrams is a former music business executive turned author. He co-authored Finding Joseph I: An Oral History of H.R. from Bad Brains, The Merciless Book of Metal Lists, and Hip-Hop Alphabet. He co-hosts a weekly radio show called Merciless with rapper Ill Bill.

James Lathos is a director, cinematographer, editor, and published writer living in Florida. He made his documentary debut with Finding Joseph I: The Story of Paul "H.R." Hudson.

Table of Contents

Foreword 8

Prologue 18

Introduction 22

1 It's about Luv (who is H.R.?) 28

2 Prelude: Roots 1956 and Beyond 42

3 Make a Joyful Noise 1971-1977 50

4 Rock for Light 1977-1979 58

5 Banned in DC 1979-1981 84

6 Destroy Babylon 1981-1983 106

7 Human Right 1983-1985 124

8 Return to Heaven 1985-1987 154

9 With the Quickness 1987-1990 168

10 Let Luv Lead (The Way) 1990-1994 182

11 Voyage into Infinity 1994-1995 194

12 Shitfit 1995 206

13 New Sun 1995-1998 218

14 Soul Brains 1998-2013 226

15 House of Suffering/I and I survive 2013 and Beyond 236

16 Here I am 264

Cast of Characters 276

Acknowledgments 287

About the Authors 288

Customer Reviews