Pub. Date:
Filigree and Shadow [Remastered]

Filigree and Shadow [Remastered]

by This Mortal CoilThis Mortal Coil


$20.34 $22.99 Save 12% Current price is $20.34, Original price is $22.99. You Save 12%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


The second album by the 4AD collective headed by label founder Ivo Watts-Russell distills the This Mortal Coil concept somewhat. There's more of a core group now, featuring Simon Raymonde of the Cocteau Twins, producer John Fryer, arranger Martin McCarrick, and Watts-Russell himself, backing a variety of mostly female singers. The double album is nearly half instrumentals (all of them given the traditional 4AD treatment of layers of echo, reverb, and phasing), most of which are pleasant enough but not particularly memorable. The vocal tracks, however, continue the debut's trend of intriguing versions of fascinatingly obscure covers, ranging from Pearls Before Swine's mysteriously beautiful "The Jeweller" (with Scott Walker-like vocals by Dominic Appleton) and Tim Buckley's "I Must Have Been Blind" (sung by Richenel, apparently from the bottom of a very deep well) to Talking Heads' "Drugs" (with a fiery, soulful vocal by Alison Limerick over a harsh, thumping rhythm track) and Colin Newman's "Alone," each of them reinterpreted in the unique This Mortal Coil style. Less focused than It'll End in Tears, Filigree & Shadow is an uneven but often inspired follow-up.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/07/2012
Label: 4Ad
UPC: 0652637300529
catalogNumber: 73005
Rank: 125211


  1. Velvet Belly
  2. The Jeweller
  3. Joy and Neet
  4. Meniscus
  5. Tears
  6. Tarantula
  7. My Father
  8. Come Here My Love
  9. At First, And Then
  10. Strength Of Strings
  11. Morning Glory
  12. Inch Blue
  13. I Want To Live
  14. Mama K
  15. Filigree and Shadow
  16. Firebrothers
  17. Thais
  18. I Must Have Been Blind
  19. A Heart Of Glass
  20. Alone
  21. Mama K
  22. The Horizon Bleeds and Sucks It's Thumb
  23. Drugs
  24. Red Rain
  25. Thais

Album Credits

Performance Credits

This Mortal Coil   Primary Artist
Dave Curtis   Guitar
Richard Thomas   Saxophone
Gini Ball   Violin,Viola
Mark Cox   Keyboards
John Fryer   Loops
Alison Limerick   Vocals
Martin McCarrick   Cello,Choir, Chorus,Electric Cello
Keith Mitchell   Guitar
Chris Pye   Guitar
Deirdre Rutkowski   Vocals,Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Louise Rutkowski   Vocals,Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Ivo Watts-Russell   Keyboards,Loops
Andrew Gray   Guitar
Simon Raymonde   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Keyboards
Jon Turner   Keyboards
Nigel Hine   Guitar
Caroline Seaman   Vocals
Dominic Appleton   Vocals
McKuen   Choir, Chorus
Peter Ulrich   Percussion
Richenel   Vocals
Alan Curtis   Guitar
Anne Turner   Choir, Chorus

Technical Credits

G. Clark   Composer
John Fryer   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Martin McCarrick   String Arrangements
Van Morrison   Composer
Ivo Watts-Russell   Composer,Producer,Art Direction,Concept,Instrumentation
Young   Composer
Jon Turner   Engineer
Steven Young   drum programming
Nigel Grierson   Art Direction,Concept
Robert Lee   Engineer
G. Duncan   Composer
T. Buckley   Composer

Customer Reviews