Fight the Power: Greatest Hits Live! [CD/DVD]

Fight the Power: Greatest Hits Live! [CD/DVD]

by Public EnemyPublic Enemy


$17.77 $17.99 Save 1% Current price is $17.77, Original price is $17.99. You Save 1%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


While longtime fans might hope that Fight the Power: Greatest Hits Live! is a reissue of the 1989 "golden age" VHS that shares its name, it's actually a 2004 show from Australia. Terminator X is replaced by the worthy DJ Lord, while Professor Griff spits more lyrics than he used to and has traded his military garb for a jersey, plus a three-piece band -- the "ghetto metal" unit 7th Octave -- brings the noise in a more traditional way. The good news is that Chuck D and Flavor Flav have lost none of their energy or urgency, and deliver late-period cuts like "Son of a Bush" with enough venom to send fair-weather fans back to the racks in search of all those post-1990 albums they slept on. The guitar/bass/drums band often overpowers Lord, but when the DJ gets a solo spot, he shows and proves, manipulating some vintage PE samples and paying homage before adding some of his own over-the-top tricks like the freaky "Matrix scratch." The longer DVD outshines the CD, since this is such a visually stimulating show -- and captured very well with cameras just where they should be -- with the one stumble being a slovenly pair of S1Ws, the military security officers who used to be stoic and ominous as chaos surrounded them. Although Griff -- their boss -- seems more concerned with looking like Mystikal than whipping them into shape, this is a minor quibble, and the rest of the show is PE in proper attack mode, preaching like it's 1987 even if the audience is smaller and already converted. A "behind the scenes" bonus is worth watching and the 5.1 Surround mix is very well done with shouts from audience members and reflections of Lord's scratching jumping out of the back channels.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/06/2007
Label: Imports
UPC: 0854750001103
catalogNumber: 5000110
Rank: 76380


Disc 1

  1. Brothers Gonna Work It Out
  2. Welcome to the Terrordome
  3. Bring the Noise
  4. Son of a Bush
  5. Shut 'Em Down
  6. Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos
  7. He Got Game
  8. Revolverlution
  9. 911 Is a Joke
  10. Public Enemy #1
  11. D.J. Lord Solo
  12. Give It Up
  13. Don't Believe the Hype
  14. Rebel Without a Pause
  15. Arizona (Ball of Confusion)
  16. Fight the Power (Soul Power)

Disc 2

  1. Intro
  2. Brothers Gonna Work It Out
  3. Welcome to the Terrordome
  4. Bring the Nosie
  5. Son of a Bush
  6. Shut 'Em Down
  7. Black Steel in the Hour of Chaos
  8. He Got Game
  9. Revolverlution
  10. 911 Is a Joke
  11. Public Enemy #1
  12. D.J. Lord Solo
  13. Give It Up
  14. Don't Believe the Hype
  15. Rebel Without a Pause
  16. Arizona (Ball of Confusion)
  17. Fight the Power (Soul Power)
  18. Flavor Set
  19. 7th Octave Set/Freestyle
  20. Prophets of Rage
  21. Can't Truss It
  22. Do You Wanna Go Our Way???
  23. Peeps (Turbo)
  24. Hazy Shade of Criminal/She Watch Channel Zero
  25. Bonus Materials

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Public Enemy   Primary Artist
Chuck D   Vocals,Group Member
Khari Wynn   Guitar
Brian Hardgrove   Bass Guitar,Leader,Vocals

Technical Credits

Public Enemy   Composer
Chuck D   Liner Notes
Cerwin Depper   Composer
Stuart Robertz   Composer
Will Schillinger   Engineer
Keith Shocklee   Composer
Hank Shocklee   Composer
Eric Sadler   Composer
Carlton Ridenhour   Composer
Norman Lee Rogers   Composer
Jean Luc Young   Executive Producer
William Drayton   Composer
Studdah Man   Composer
Ira Bruggmann   Executive Producer
Gunther Kutsch   Executive Producer
Pascale Mayer   Liner Notes
Gary Rinaldo   Composer
JBL   Composer
Franz Schmidt   Cover Art

Customer Reviews