Fight for Your Mind

Fight for Your Mind

by Ben HarperBen Harper


$13.69 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.69, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Fight for Your Mind fully embraces Ben Harper's influences (Dylan, Marley, Havens, and Hendrix) into a complete sound while simultaneously broadening his thematic and musical palette. Oliver Charles' tactile drumming and Leon Mobley's percussion work give a sparkle to Harper's music that was absent on his debut. Songs like "Gold to Me" and "Excuse Me Mr." show Harper growing as a poet, approaching ideas via more subtle avenues. The single "Ground on Down" and epic jam "God Fearing Man" capture some of the explosive energy of his live performances. The latter makes allusions to "While My Guitar Gently Weeps," and that's exactly what Harper does -- allows his trademark Weissenborn guitar to scream out to his audience. The only misstep on this album is his sophomoric weed anthem "Burn One Down," but one might argue that a little tarnish adds character.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/01/1995
Label: Virgin Records Us
UPC: 0724384062026
catalogNumber: 40620

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Ben Harper   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Weissenborn
Leon Mobley   Percussion
Bob "Stiv" Coke   Tabla,Tambourine,Tamboura,Sarod
Juan Nelson   Bass
Ervin Pope   Organ,Hammond Organ
Danielle Charles   Violin
Timothy Loo   Cello
Oliver Charles   Drums
Carey Christensen   Bass
Brett Banducci   Viola

Technical Credits

Bradley Cook   Engineer
Ben Harper   Composer,Producer,Contributor,String Arrangements
Leon Mobley   Composer
J.P. Plunier   Composer,Producer,String Arrangements,Art Direction
Bob "Stiv" Coke   Producer
Tom Dolan   Art Direction
Juan Nelson   Composer
Oliver Charles   Composer

Customer Reviews