Feels Like Today

Feels Like Today

by Rascal FlattsRascal Flatts


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 12


Country vocal trio Rascal Flatts bring some extra urgency to their third album, Feels Like Today -- an intensity evident from the first acoustic guitar strums on the thumping album opener, "Where You Are." Steel guitars and mandolins lend a country flavor to several songs, but there's a decided rock tenor this time around, suggesting that the positive messages here needed some extra octane. As the rest of the disc unfolds, the group's strengths become more pronounced. Lead singer Gary LeVox's reedy vocals are even more affecting than they were on last year's Melt, and when he joins his mates -- Jay DeMarcus and Joe Don Rooney -- in harmony, the blend of voices is irresistible. On the gospel-rock fusion "Bless the Broken Road," a melody reminiscent of Marc Cohn's "Walking in Memphis" soars as the fellows raise their voices in a mid-tempo celebration of love sought, found, and treasured. The anthemic "Feels Like Today" tells a story of personal rebirth in a glorious arrangement that incorporates keening strings and a cooing female chorus buttressing the band's propulsive thrust and urgent harmonizing. The death of a friend is the impetus for a determined vow to live life to the fullest on the roiling rocker "When the Sand Runs Out," just as the arrival of true love in "The Day Before You" spurs a buoyant hosanna rich in booming drums, tasty electric guitar interjections, and layered, heartfelt harmonizing. All Rascal Flatts' hallmarks -- strong messages, fiery instrumental work, and deeply committed vocalizing -- are in abundant evidence here, making Feels Like Today feel like a winner.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/28/2004
Label: Lyric Street
UPC: 0720616504920
catalogNumber: 165049
Rank: 65308


  1. Where You Are
  2. Bless the Broken Road
  3. Then I Did
  4. Feels Like Today
  5. Fast Cars and Freedom
  6. When the Sand Runs Out
  7. Here's to You
  8. The Day Before You
  9. Break Away
  10. Holes
  11. Oklahoma-Texas Line

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rascal Flatts   Primary Artist
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Jerry McPherson   Electric Guitar
Gordon Mote   Piano,Hammond Organ
Steve Nathan   Piano,Hammond Organ
Lonnie Wilson   Drums
Jonathan Yudkin   Banjo,Fiddle,Mandolin,Strings,Octophone
Tim Akers   Synthesizer,Accordion,Keyboards
Jay DeMarcus   Bass,Background Vocals
Larry Beaird   Acoustic Guitar
Tom Bukovac   Electric Guitar
Joe Don Rooney   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Randy Cantor   Composer
Jeff Hanna   Composer
Marcus Hummon   Composer
Dennis Matkosky   Composer
Steve Robson   Composer
Marty Williams   Producer,Engineer
Jonathan Yudkin   Composer,String Arrangements
Mark Bright   Producer
Neil Thrasher   Composer
Sherri Halford   Art Direction
Jeffrey Steele   Composer
Jay DeMarcus   Composer
Wendell Mobley   Composer
Brad Crisler   Composer
Glenn Sweitzer   Art Direction
Rascal Flatts   Producer
Wayne Hector   Composer
Joe Don Rooney   Composer
Gary LeVox   Composer
Bart Morris   Engineer
Catt Gravitt   Composer
Gregory Becker   Composer
James LeBlanc   Composer
Matthew West   Composer
John Paul White   Composer

Customer Reviews