Pub. Date:
Father of the Delta Blues: The Complete 1965 Sessions

Father of the Delta Blues: The Complete 1965 Sessions

by Son HouseSon House


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 23


After being rediscovered by the folk-blues community in the early '60s, Son House rose to the occasion and recorded this magnificent set of performances. Allowed to stretch out past the shorter running time of the original 78s, House turns in wonderful, steaming performances of some of his best-known material. On some tracks, House is supplemented by folk-blues researcher/musician Alan Wilson, who would later become a member of the blues-rock group Canned Heat and here plays some nice second guitar and harmonica on several cuts. This two-disc set features alternate takes, some unissued material and some studio chatter from producer John Hammond, Sr. that ocassionally hints at the chaotic nature inherent to some of these '60s "rediscovery" sessions. While not as overpowering as his earlier work (what could be?), all of these sides are so power packed with sheer emotional involvement from House, they're an indispensable part of his canonade.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/30/1992
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074644886726
catalogNumber: 48867
Rank: 61429


Disc 1

  1. Death Letter
  2. Pearline
  3. Louise Mcghee
  4. John the Revelator
  5. Empire State Express
  6. Preachin' Blues
  7. Grinning in Your Face
  8. Sundown
  9. Levee Camp Moan

Disc 2

  1. Death Letter
  2. Levee Camp Moan
  3. Grinning in Your Face
  4. John the Revelator
  5. Preachin' Blues
  6. President Kennedy
  7. A Down the Staff
  8. Motherless Children
  9. Yonder Comes My Mother
  10. Shake It and Break It
  11. Pony Blues
  12. Downhearted Blues

Album Credits

Customer Reviews