Eye of the Storm

Eye of the Storm

by One Ok RockOne Ok Rock


$14.77 $14.99 Save 1% Current price is $14.77, Original price is $14.99. You Save 1%. View All Available Formats & Editions


Charging forth with an arsenal of inspirational millennial anthems, Japanese rock outfit One OK Rock graduates from scrappy punks into stadium-sized, motivational titans with their ninth set, Eye of the Storm. Their second for Fueled by Ramen, Storm continues the international expansion efforts they started on 2017's Ambitions. Though less rollicking, and lacking the punch and groove of that previous effort, Storm instead amplifies the urgency and scope -- as if the fate of the world was at stake. That sentiment may seem exaggerated, but after the seventh consecutive mega-anthem, one might suspect superhero capes are hiding beneath the quartet's stage clothes. Akin to contemporaneous releases by Thirty Seconds to Mars, All Time Low, Bring Me the Horizon, and 5 Seconds of Summer, this calculated move toward pop-polished sheen may shake fans of their early-2010s output, but the shift was already put in motion mid-decade with 35xxxv. Deliberate in its intent, Eye of the Storm is packed with gang choruses, crescendo drums, atmospheric production, and well-timed cathartic releases that elevate frontman Takahiro Moriuchi's expanded vocal range and inspiration-overdrive lyrics (which he's once again delivering in English). From the outset, the band sets the stage on the title track, with Taka singing "It's always darkest before the dawn/In the eye of the storm." It's a simple message -- one that is repeated over and over in varying iterations -- but the band takes their mission seriously. On and on it goes, as listeners are reminded to be confident ("Head High"), be defiant ("Push Back"), be themselves ("Stand Out Fit In"), and be fearless ("The Last Time"). Elsewhere, anthems such as "Grow Old Die Young" and "Wasted Nights" promote a live-for-now attitude that brims with optimism so thick that it's pointless to fight it. The latter track is part of a heroic mid-album stretch that also includes "Push Back" and "Change," a trio of standouts that form the LP's beating heart. While a brief lag in the heartswell disrupts the church-like atmosphere at the tail end, it provides a pensive break and builds back to previous heights with the Kiiara-assisted "In the Stars." Storm closes with the towering "Giants" and the urgent "Unforgettable," two additional highlights designed for singalongs and hands held high. In a world where pain and doubt swirl and churn, it's easy to give up and get blown away. With Eye of the Storm, One OK Rock delivers such a convincing message that, for a brief moment, life seems like it'll really be alright. ~ Neil Z. Yeung

Product Details

Release Date: 02/15/2019
Label: Fueled By Ramen
UPC: 0075678653858
catalogNumber: 585266

Album Credits

Performance Credits

One Ok Rock   Primary Artist
Andrew Goldstein   Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Derek Fuhrmann   Synthesizer,Guitar,Background Vocals
Takahiro Moriuchi   Background Vocals
Dan Book   Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals
Mark Crew   Keyboards
Jamil Kazmi   Background Vocals
Jack Duxbury   Keyboards

Technical Credits

Andrew Goldstein   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Brian Howes   Composer
Ben Romans   Composer,Producer
Janee Bennett   Composer
Kyle Moorman   Composer,Producer,Additional Production
Joshua Golden   Composer
Derek Fuhrmann   Composer,Producer,drum programming
Takahiro Moriuchi   Composer
Liam O'Donnell   Composer
Ethan Thompson   Composer
Alex Prieto   Engineer
Dan Book   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
David Pramik   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Mike Duce   Composer
Mark Crew   Composer,Programming,Producer
Christopher J. Baran   Composer,Producer
Sasha Sirota   Engineer
Jared Gutstadt   Composer,Producer
Dan Priddy   Programming
Dan Lancaster   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Nick Long   Composer
Michael Jade   Composer
Charlie Snyder   Composer
Colin Brittain   Composer,Producer
Jamil Kazmi   Composer
Jason Boyd   Composer,Producer,Vocal Producer
John Thomas Roach   Composer
Pete Nappi   Composer,Producer
Toru Yamashita   Composer
Jonathan Gerring   Programming,Additional Production
Brendon Collins   Engineer

Customer Reviews