This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

Extraordinary Birds

Extraordinary Birds

by Sandy Stark-Mcginnis

Paperback

$7.99 $8.99 Save 11% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $8.99. You Save 11%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on April 28, 2020

Overview

For fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Counting by 7s, and Fish in a Tree, a heartbreaking and hopeful story about a unique young girl on a journey to find home.

"An amazing debut — filled with heart, lyrical prose, and a heroine who soars!" - Jewell Parker Rhodes, New York Times bestselling author of Ghost Boys

December believes she is a bird. The scar on her back is where her wings will sprout, and one day soon, she will soar away. It will not matter that she has no permanent home. Her destiny is in the sky.

But then she's placed with foster mom Eleanor, a kind woman who volunteers at an animal rescue and has secrets of her own. December begins to see that her story could end a different way – but could she ever be happy down on the ground?

In her arresting debut, Sandy Stark-McGinnis offers an inspiring story about family, friendship, and finding where you belong.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781547601431
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA
Publication date: 04/28/2020
Pages: 272
Product dimensions: 5.51(w) x 8.25(h) x (d)
Lexile: 700L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Sandy Stark-McGinnis is a debut author and award-winning poet whose work has appeared in Quercus Review, In the Grove, and Penumbra. She holds an MA in Creative Writing from San Francisco State University. Sandy lives with her husband and children in California, where she works as a fifth grade teacher.

www.sandystarkmcginnis.com

@McGinnisSandy