Exile on Mainstream [USB]

Exile on Mainstream [USB]

by Matchbox Twenty Matchbox Twenty
Exile on Mainstream [USB]

Exile on Mainstream [USB]

by Matchbox Twenty Matchbox Twenty


$14.99 $16.99 Save 12% Current price is $14.99, Original price is $16.99. You Save 12%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 8


Say this for Matchbox Twenty -- they've gotten better the longer they've stuck around. And that's not just their music, either: they've dropped the pretense of spelling their name as matchbox 20, they've gone away from cumbersome album titles, and they've embraced their status as MOR rockers. All of this is evident on Exile on Mainstream, which is not only the first of their albums to bear a simple yet clever title, it's a collection of hits that traces their progression into a good, solid mainstream band and is also buttressed by an EP that finds them livelier than ever. Bolder, too, especially on the rockabilly of "I'll Believe You When" and the slow oldies beat of "Can't Let You Go," which are light and dexterous in a way they've never been before. These are balanced by a few cuts that don't stretch quite as far, but the propulsive pop "If I Fall," charging anthem "How Far We've Come," and earnest ballad "These Hard Times" are smooth, accomplished mainstream pop that are better constructed in every respect than their earliest hits. That much is evident by this EP's juxtaposition with the 11-track greatest-hits disc, which has all their big radio hits presented in chronological order. There are a few minor hits missing -- "Angry," "Last Beautiful Girl," "Downfall," none of which climbed that high on the charts -- so this has everything that a modern rock or adult contemporary radio listener would know, and the striking thing about listening to the disc is to hear how they abandoned the angst-ridden cartwheels that weighed down "Push" and built upon the snappy hooks of "Real World" and "3 AM," developing a sense of melodic craft that flourished in the smooth ballad "If You're Gone" and the arena rocker "Unwell." These were highlights on their respective albums, but when these moments are put together as a hits collection, it makes for a surprisingly entertaining batch of mainstream rock -- but the real story is the bonus disc, which suggests that after this collection is out of the way, Matchbox Twenty may have their first very good studio album on the way.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/02/2007
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678996986
catalogNumber: 297340
Rank: 5475


Disc 1

  1. How Far We've Come
  2. I'll Believe You When
  3. All Your Reasons
  4. These Hard Times
  5. If I Fall
  6. Can't Let You Go

Disc 2

  1. Long Day
  2. Push
  3. 3 Am
  4. Real World
  5. Back 2 Good
  6. Bent
  7. If You're Gone
  8. Mad Season
  9. Disease
  10. Unwell
  11. Bright Lights

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Matchbox Twenty   Primary Artist
Vaneese Thomas   Background Vocals
Stevie Blacke   Strings
Barry Finclair   Violin
Crystal Garner   Viola
Carl Gorodetzky   Concert Master
Greg Leisz   Pedal Steel Guitar
Chris McDonald   Conductor
Jan Mullen   Violin
Nashville String Machine   Strings,Track Performer
Sue Pray   Viola
Donna Tecco   Violin
Rob Thomas   Acoustic Guitar,Piano,Vocals,Melodica,Group Member
Jerome Ashby   French Horn
Carol Webb   Violin,Concert Master
Sarah Adams   Viola
Maura Giannini   Violin
Matt Serletic   Percussion,Keyboards,Woodwind
Elizabeth Burkhardt   Bassoon,Leader
Ted Gurch   Clarinet
Yvonne Powers   Oboe
Brian Yale   Bass,Bass Guitar,Background Vocals,Group Member
Ryan MacMillan   Drums
Adam Gaynor   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Kyle Cook   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Glockenspiel,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Soloist,Group Member
Paul Doucette   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Piano,Drums,Glockenspiel,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Voices,Synthesizer Guitar,Casio,Group Member
Matt Beck   Organ
Enrico DiCecco   Violin
Jonathan Dinklage   Violin
Douglas Edwards Smith   Bass Clarinet
Atlanta Brass Society   Track Performer
Lydia Mann Jaime   Background Vocals
Vincent Lionti   Viola
Eric Ralske   French Horn
Lydia Mann-Jaime   Background Vocals
Amy Porter   Flute
Ricky Sortomme   Violin
Douglas Smith   Bass Clarinet

Technical Credits

Mick Jagger   Composer
Tony Adams   Drum Technician
Stevie Blacke   String Arrangements
Noel Golden   Engineer
Steve Lillywhite   Producer,Audio Production
Jeff Tomei   Engineer
Craig Poole   Guitar Techician
Matchbox Twenty   Composer
Mark Dobson   Engineer
CJ Eiriksson   Engineer
Matt Serletic   Composer,Producer,Orchestration,Audio Production,Woodwind Arrangement
Jan Smith   Vocal Coach
Brian Yale   Composer
Shawn Grove   Pro-Tools
Paul Doucette   Art Direction
Greg Collins   Engineer
Michael Lippman   Management
Patrick Woodward   Engineer
Aaron Brougher   Audio Production
Willy Donica   Guitar Techician
Michael James Moore   Artistic Director
Paul Soucette   String Arrangements

Customer Reviews