Everybody Wants

Everybody Wants

by The StrutsThe Struts


$12.08 $12.99 Save 7% Current price is $12.08, Original price is $12.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Originally released in 2014, the debut long player from the Derbyshire-based rockers is an unapologetic blast of earworm-heavy, modern rock/punk-pop in a neo-glam wrapper, and as cocksure as it is calculated. Imagine a Slade-crazed, real life version of Russell Brand's Infant Sorrow (the band from Get Him to the Greek) fronted by a man who delivers each and every "R" with a brazen alveolar trill in a voice that's an amalgam of Freddie Mercury, Dee Snider, Noddy Holder, and David Johansen. Everybody Wants is not a subtle album. It's all pomp, circumstance, bluster, and nasty, sugary goodness; an 11-track set (13 on the 2016 U.S. reissue) of hook-laden, radio-ready party songs that embrace both sleaze and cheese. Luke Spiller is a born frontman. He's got the Jagger swagger, but where Mick's antics invoked the American south, Spiller is a purely East Midlands creation, and like the Darkness' Justin Hawkins, his flamboyant English delivery will likely be the barometer listeners use to gauge the duration of their stay. The songs themselves are largely formulaic, but delivered with such gusto that it's easy to forgive the chicanery behind them. Bawdy, ballsy, silly, and sweet, standouts like "Could Have Been Me," "Roll Up," and "Kiss This," not to mention a couple of new gems on the 2016 reissue -- "These Times Are Changing" and "Ol' Switcheroo" -- will likely appeal to a wide range of pop enthusiasts. From the Buckcherry fan to the One Direction fan, there's a little bit of something for everyone on the aptly named Everybody Wants.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/04/2016
Label: Interscope Records
UPC: 0602547777300
catalogNumber: 002460302
Rank: 21172

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Struts   Primary Artist
Luke Spiller   Vocals,Group Member
Adam Slack   Guitar,Group Member
Gethin Davies   Drums,Group Member
Jed Elliott   Bass,Group Member

Technical Credits

Gregg Alexander   Composer,Producer
Marti Frederiksen   Composer,Producer
Nick Lashley   Composer,Producer
Nigel Butler   Composer,Producer
Robert Fisher   Art Direction
Dave Bassett   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Warren Huart   Engineer
Ray Hedges   Composer,Producer
Rick Parkhouse   Composer
Josh Wilkinson   Composer,Producer,Additional Production
Mark Holman   Producer
Jerry Johnson   Drum Technician
Nick Southwood   Composer,Producer
George Tizzard   Composer
Luke Spiller   Composer
Adam Slack   Composer
Laurence Matone   Composer

Customer Reviews