Everybody Wanna Live On

Everybody Wanna Live On

by The MasqueradersThe Masqueraders


$13.29 $13.99 Save 5% Current price is $13.29, Original price is $13.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Masqueraders had been around since the early '60s, releasing singles for labels such as Bell, Wand, and Chips Moman's Memphis-based AGP. In the '70s, the group released two singles for Hi Records, then this 1975 album debut. Everybody Wanna Live On benefited from the subtle and innovative production values of Isaac Hayes; the title track is a powerful dance number that boasts not quite didactic lyrics and Jones' patented robust vocals. Although the group excelled at mid-tempo material, like the hooky "Please Don't Try (To Take Me Up to the Sky)," what typified the Hayes/Masqueraders alliance was mature and thoughtful ballads. One track in particular stands out, the dream-like "(Call Me) The Traveling Man," boasting both a poignant arrangement and a perfect performance from Jones. "(My Love For You Is) Honest And True" and "Your Sweet Love Is a Blessing" also mine ballad territory, both exhibiting the group's strong harmonies and commitment. Everybody Wanna Live On represents the sublime pairing of the right group with a sympathetic producer, and the results are highly skilled.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/05/2014
Label: Imports
UPC: 0029667914321
catalogNumber: 1157631
Rank: 81299

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Masqueraders   Primary Artist
Movement   Horn,Rhythm
Emerson Able   Alto Saxophone
Ben Cauley   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Lewis Collins   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Bill Flores   Trombone
Isaac Hayes   Keyboards,Alto Saxophone,Soloist
Jack Hale   Trombone
Willie Hall   Drums,Tambourine
Edgar Matthews   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Memphis Symphony Orchestra   Strings,Horn
Floyd Newman   Baritone Saxophone
Gary Russell   Trombone
Darnell Smith   Tenor Saxophone
Erroll Thomas   Bass Guitar
Jimmy Thompson   Conga
William Vaughn   Guitar
Tommy Williams   Tenor Saxophone
Nokie Taylor   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Johnny Davis   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Joe D'gerolamo   French Horn
Duke Hall   Keyboards
Willie Cole   Drums,Tambourine
Charles "Skip" Pitts   Guitar
Sammy Watts   Acoustic Guitar
Doug Lemon   Trombone
Brian Munch   French Horn
Scott Ringold   French Horn
Micky "Shine" Gregory   Trumpet,Flugelhorn

Technical Credits

Burt Bacharach   Composer
Isaac Hayes   Arranger,Producer,Remixing
Dave Purple   Remixing
Lester Snell   Orchestration
Harold Thomas   Composer
Roosevelt Green   Remixing
Tony Rounce   Liner Notes
David Sanders   Composer
Dave Jarvis   Illustrations
Mack David   Composer
Martin Donald   Art Direction
Roosevelt "Head" Green   Engineer
Duke Hall   Orchestration
Barney Williams   Composer
Lee Jones   Composer
Robert Wrightsil   Composer
Eula Jean Rivers   Composer
Samuel Hutchins   Composer

Customer Reviews