Every Time

Every Time

by Pam TillisPam Tillis




Pam Tillis is in possession of a fine country voice, and on this particular project she displays her talent proudly, twang and all. While there is the usual overproduction that characterizes Nashville in the '90s, and some material that seems more in line with the pop world, Tillis has the strength to break through and shine. Especially good is the Leslie Satcher tune "Whiskey on the Wound," which seems to demonstrate just how deep Tillis' traditional roots run in spite of all the nonsense. Jamie O'Hara's composition, "Lay the Heartache Down," also allows Tillis to spread her wings and fly, but the most breathtaking cut is the Thompson/Cunningham co-write "A Whisper and a Scream"; the performance here is unsurpassed, heartbreaking, soul-shaking, and chilling. For this track alone, Every Time is bound to be counted as one of Tillis' most distinctive projects.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/30/1998
Label: Arista
UPC: 0078221886123
catalogNumber: 18861

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Pam Tillis   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Beth Nielsen Chapman   Background Vocals
Verlon Thompson   Background Vocals
John Jorgenson   Electric Guitar
Glen Duncan   Dobro
John Wesley Ryles   Background Vocals
Joe Chemay   Bass
Eddie Bayers   Percussion,Drums
Richard Bennett   Electric Guitar
Dan Dugmore   Dobro,Steel Guitar
Stuart Duncan   Fiddle
Larry Franklin   Fiddle
Sonny Garrish   Steel Guitar
Tony Harrell   Accordion
John Hobbs   Synthesizer,Piano
Carl Jackson   Background Vocals
John Jarvis   Piano
Brent Mason   Electric Guitar
Greg Morrow   Drums
Steve Nathan   Organ,Synthesizer
Suzy Ragsdale   Background Vocals
Michael Rhodes   Bass
Brent Rowan   Electric Guitar
Biff Watson   Acoustic Guitar
Lonnie Wilson   Percussion
Glenn Worf   Bass
Chris Farren   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Background Vocals
Aubrey Haynie   Fiddle
Billy Joe Walker   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Gut String Guitar
Kirk "Jelly Roll" Johnson   Harmonica
Stuart Smith   Electric Guitar
Leslie Satcher   Background Vocals
Wes Hightower   Background Vocals
Dennis Wilson   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Pam Tillis   Producer
Tom Harding   Engineer
Schulman   Engineer
David Thoener   Engineer,Remixing
Steve Tillisch   Engineer
Chris Farren   Producer
Maude Gilman   Art Direction
Billy Joe Walker   Producer
Maude Gilman Clapham   Art Direction

Customer Reviews