Every Breath You Take: The Classics

Every Breath You Take: The Classics

by The PoliceThe Police


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, June 28


Every Breath You Take: The Classics is an updated version of the 1986 collection Every Breath You Take: The Singles. The only differences in this collection are the addition of the "New Classic Rock Mix" of "Message in a Bottle," different artwork, and a slightly reworded title. Cosmetic changes aside, this remains a solid representation of a unique pop trio whose studio output was a too-short five albums. Although frontman/bassist Sting wrote practically all the material, Andy Summers' and Stewart Copeland's contributions leave no doubt that this was a three-man effort. "Walking on the Moon" features Summers' reggae shadings and Copeland's precise percussive nuances, and their instrumental prowess turns a nonsensical title such as "De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da" into a quirky pop nugget. As for Sting's songwriting, most of it revolved around relationships and the different turns they take. Phases such as rapture ("Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic"), manipulation ("Wrapped Around Your Finger," "Every Breath You Take"), and desperation ("Can't Stand Losing You") are all deftly touched on by Gordon Sumner.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/11/2005
Label: A&M
UPC: 0602498250174
catalogNumber: 000376502
Rank: 6855


  1. Roxanne
  2. Can't Stand Losing You
  3. Message in a Bottle
  4. Walking on the Moon
  5. Don't Stand So Close to Me
  6. De Do Do Do, De Da Da Da
  7. Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic
  8. Invisible Sun
  9. Spirits in the Material World
  10. Every Breath You Take
  11. King of Pain
  12. Wrapped Around Your Finger
  13. Don't Stand So Close to Me '86
  14. Message in a Bottle

Album Credits

Customer Reviews