by Martina McBrideMartina McBride


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 14


Everlasting is the second collection of covers Martina McBride has recorded, following 2005's Timeless by nearly ten years. A decade isn't the only thing separating the two records. Timeless was a collection of country covers but Everlasting has soul in its heart, with the singer tackling R&B standards from Aretha Franklin ("Do Right Woman, Do Right Man"), Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes ("If You Don't Know Me by Now"), the Supremes ("Come See About Me"), Otis Redding ("I've Been Loving You Too Long"), and Sam Cooke ("Bring It on Home to Me"). With the assistance of Don Was -- who gives the whole affair a warm, burnished sound; there's a lot of vibe here, even if there isn't a lot of room for the musicians to depart from the groove, nor much reason to -- McBride also expands her scope ever so slightly, giving Fred Neil's "Little Bit of Rain" a Memphis flavor, swinging through Etta James' "In the Basement" with Kelly Clarkson, and bopping through a version of Little Walter's "My Babe" that's certainly cleaner than the original but maintains a little of that Chess mojo. There's warmth in Was' production and honey in McBride's voice and if the combination can sometimes result in too-sweet tea, it's nevertheless soothing.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/08/2014
Label: Vinyl Recordings
UPC: 5060186921440
catalogNumber: 1
Rank: 38417


  1. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man
  2. Suspicious Minds
  3. If You Don't Know Me By Now
  4. Little Bit Of Rain
  5. Bring It On Home To Me
  6. Come See About Me
  7. What Becomes Of The Brokenhearted
  8. I've Been Loving You Too Long
  9. Wild Night
  10. In The Basement
  11. My Babe
  12. To Know Him Is To Love Him

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Martina McBride   Primary Artist,Percussion,Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Eric Darken   Percussion
Rayse Biggs   Trumpet
Shannon Forrest   Percussion,Drums
Edward Gooch   Trombone
Vicki Hampton   Background Vocals
Jim Hoke   Conductor,Tenor Saxophone
Dann Huff   Electric Guitar
Charles Judge   Organ,Piano,Strings
Randy Leago   Baritone Saxophone
Ann McCrary   Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Kevin McKendree   Organ,Piano,Wurlitzer
Gordon Mote   Piano,farfisa organ
Wendy Moten   Background Vocals
Patrick O'Connor   Drums
Steve Patrick   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Luis Resto   Keyboards,Horn Engineer
Michael Rhodes   Bass
Paul Riser   Conductor
Don Was   Hand Clapping
Reggie Young   Electric Guitar
Vinnie Ciesielski   Trumpet
Charles Dixon   Violin,Viola
Jim Medlin   Organ,Piano,fender rhodes,Wurlitzer
Tom Bukovac   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
John Hinchey   Trombone
Regina McCrary   Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Andrea Merritt   Background Vocals
Alfreda McCrary   Background Vocals,Hand Clapping
Michael Henderson   Guitar,Harmonica,Electric Guitar
Timothy Hewitt   Alto Saxophone

Technical Credits

Willie Dixon   Composer
Fred Neil   Composer
Jerry Butler   Composer
Sam Cooke   Composer
Otis Redding   Composer
Phil Spector   Composer
Mark James   Composer
Dan Penn   Composer
Lamont Dozier   Composer
Kenny Gamble   Composer
Jim Hoke   Horn Arrangements
Eddie Holland   Composer
Brian Holland   Composer
Leon Huff   Composer
Chips Moman   Composer
Van Morrison   Composer
Paul Riser   Composer,Horn Arrangements
Don Was   Producer
William Weatherspoon   Composer
Julian Peploe   Art Direction
Allen Ditto   Engineer
John McBride   Engineer
Carl Williams Smith   Composer
Billy Davis   Composer
Ellen Wakayama   Art Direction
James Dean   Composer
Raymond Miner   Composer

Customer Reviews