Eternity of Dimming

Eternity of Dimming

by Frontier RuckusFrontier Ruckus


$15.55 $15.99 Save 3% Current price is $15.55, Original price is $15.99. You Save 3%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Michigan-based folk-country band Frontier Ruckus has a sound that is oddly lush, and yet somehow sparse and elegantly simple, the way a river moves through different landscapes when seen from above, calm and tranquil, but underneath every molecule is in motion. Led by the songs and singing of Matthew Milia, the band's songs are all about a kind of artful, literary nostalgia, remembering places, conversations, important meetings, and partings, all set against the geography of Michigan. Yes, this is a Michigan band, but Milia sings about his home as if it were standing in for the experience of growing and living anywhere, a kind of personal Spoon River Anthology as done by early R.E.M., say, with a sad lilt and a yearning for the ghosts of the past to make sense. This set, a sprawling 20 songs spread over two discs, is wonderfully unified, with a ghostly, flickering soundscape playing out behind Milia's sad but still reaffirming singing. This isn't rocking dance music (although you'll still tap your feet). It's more like a kind of back-porch twilight session that works because it's telling a story, an intertwined story of growing up in Southeast Michigan, coping with everything that comes with that, that comes with growing up anywhere at all. This is Americana wrought with the vision of a poet, intelligent and lyrical but not unnaturally so. Engineered and produced by Jim Roll at Backseat Productions in Ann Arbor, Michigan, Eternity of Dimming is a beautiful, nostalgic (in the best meaning of the word) hymn to time and place, a long suite of songs that falls together like a wonderful quilt of memories.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/12/2013
Label: Quite Scientific
UPC: 0804297903880
catalogNumber: 38
Rank: 143051

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Frontier Ruckus   Primary Artist
Jim Roll   Bass Guitar,Moderator
Brian Barnes   Bass Guitar
Michael Nau   Background Vocals
Matthew Milia   Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica,Piano,Bass Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Vocal Harmony,Group Member
Brennan Andes   Bass Guitar,Double Bass
Zachary Nichols   Clarinet,Piano,Trumpet,Bass Guitar,Alto Horn,Melodica,Saw,Tubular Bells,Stylophone,Vocal Harmony,Group Member,Hammond B3
Ryan "Smalls" Etzcorn   Percussion,Tambourine,Bells,Timpani,Vocal Harmony,Group Member
Anna Burch   Vocal Harmony
David W. Jones   Banjo,Bass,Dobro,Bass Guitar,Tubular Bells,Vocal Harmony,Group Member
John Hanson   Bass Guitar
Aaron Apsey   Viola

Technical Credits

Jim Roll   Engineer
Frontier Ruckus   Producer
Matthew Milia   Composer,Liner Notes,Artwork,Concept
Zachary Nichols   String Arrangements
David W. Jones   Composer
Keith Kinnear   Engineer

Customer Reviews