Essential Standards

Essential Standards

by Art PepperArt Pepper




Essential Standards highlights OJC/Contemporary/Galaxy recordings made over the course of three decades by alto saxophonist Art Pepper. The majority of these ten tracks feature Pepper playing his main instrument, with the exception of "Move," where he switches to tenor, while picking up the clarinet for "Lover Man (Oh, Where Can You Be?)." These tracks emphasize Pepper's ability to make every performance his own, no matter how many times he had played them. While there is nothing here the jazz collector doesn't already own, Essential Standards provides a decent sampling for the curious listener at a mid-line price.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/30/2009
Label: Ojc
UPC: 0888072314276
catalogNumber: 31427

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Art Pepper   Primary Artist,Clarinet,Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Frank Butler   Drums
George Cables   Piano
Conte Candoli   Trumpet
Stanley Cowell   Piano
Tommy Flanagan   Piano
Russ Freeman   Piano
Red Garland   Piano
Billy Higgins   Drums
Philly Joe Jones   Drums
Richie Kamuca   Tenor Saxophone
Wynton Kelly   Piano
Mel Lewis   Drums
Warne Marsh   Tenor Saxophone
Cecil McBee   Bass
Red Mitchell   Bass
Ronnie Ball   Piano
Dolo Coker   Piano
Bob Enevoldsen   Valve Trombone
Jimmy Cobb   Drums
Med Flory   Baritone Saxophone
Charlie Kennedy   Alto Saxophone
Porcino   Trumpet,Soloist
Patrice Anderson   Violin
Paul Chambers   Bass
Audrey DeSilva   Violin
Clifton Foster   Violin
Gary Frommer   Drums
Howard Roberts   Guitar
Jack Sheldon   Trumpet,Soloist
Joe Mondragon   Bass
Marty Paich   Conductor
Greg Mazmanian   Violin
Dick Nash   Trombone
Sharon O'Connor   Cello
Dan Smiley   Violin
John Tenney   Violin
Ben Tucker   Bass
Emily VanValkenburgh   Violin
Vincent DeRosa   French Horn
Jimmy Bond   Bass,Conductor
Carl Burnett   Drums

Technical Credits

Denzil Best   Composer
Baker Bigsby   Engineer
Wally Buck   Engineer
Roy DuNann   Engineer
Lester Koenig   Producer
Marty Paich   Arranger
Ed Michel   Producer
Cole Porter   Composer
Bob Simpson   Engineer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Eden Ahbez   Composer
Abbey Anna   Art Direction
Andrew Pham   Art Direction
Howard Holtzer   Engineer

Customer Reviews