Epiphany: The Best of Chaka Khan, Vol. 1 [2005]

Epiphany: The Best of Chaka Khan, Vol. 1 [2005]

by Chaka KhanChaka Khan


$7.99 $11.99 Save 33% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $11.99. You Save 33%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Chaka Khan's career through the 1996 release of Epiphany: The Best of Chaka Khan, Vol. 1 -- involving eight albums with Rufus and eight solo albums, along with assorted collaborations -- produced roughly 40 Top 40 R&B singles, not to mention dozens of undervalued album cuts. So it is clear that any one-disc attempt at wrapping up the highlights is bound to work more like a sampler than a true best-of. And though this release is given the "Vol. 1" tag, it remained without a sequel as late as 2005, when Reprise reissued it without altering the contents. Yet another frustration is that previously unreleased songs take the place of missing classics like "Sweet Thing," "Clouds," "Fate," "Close the Door," and "Stay." (That's just for starters.) Nonetheless, the disc does contain Khan's most popular work, from ballads like "Through the Fire" to anthems like "I'm Every Woman" and "Ain't Nobody," along with other radio staples, such as "I Feel for You" and "Tell Me Something Good." At the absolute least, Khan deserves a solo-only best-of, as well as a disc that sticks strictly to her work with Rufus. (The Very Best of Rufus Featuring Chaka Khan, the only anthology dedicated to Rufus, has its own set of issues.)

Product Details

Release Date: 03/15/2005
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227646424
catalogNumber: 76464
Rank: 2201

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Chaka Khan   Primary Artist,Vocals,Background Vocals
Howard McCrary   Background Vocals
Chris Botti   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Charles Veal   Concert Master
Luis Conte   Percussion
Lawrence Feldman   Flute
David Gamson   Keyboards
Jerry Hey   Flugelhorn
Paul Jackson   Guitar
Oliver Leiber   Guitar
Meshell Ndegeocello   Bass,Vocals
Chieli Minucci   Guitar
Roy "Dog" Pennon   Bass,Soloist
Steve Skinner   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Wah Wah Watson   Guitar
Derrick Edmondson   Saxophone,Soloist,Horn Section
Steve Baxter   Trombone,Horn Section
Raymond Chue   fender rhodes
Mark Stevens   Background Vocals
Larry E. Williams   Flute
Federico Gonzalez Peña   Piano,fender rhodes
Vere Isaac   Bass

Technical Credits

Bruce Hornsby   Arranger,Composer
Prince   Composer
Dizzy Gillespie   Composer
Christine McVie   Composer
Ned Doheny   Composer
Nick Ashford   Composer
Andre Betts   Producer
Chaka Khan   Composer,Executive Producer,Vocal Arrangements
Keith Crouch   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Vocal Arrangements,Instrumentation
Dave Grusin   Arranger
Jud Friedman   Composer
David Gamson   Composer,Producer,Engineer,drum programming,rhythm arrangement
Humberto Gatica   Producer
Reggie Griffin   Arranger
Jerry Hey   Horn Arrangements
Kipper Jones   Composer,Vocal Arrangements
Oliver Leiber   rhythm arrangement
Arif Mardin   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Vocal Producer
Michael O'Reilly   Engineer
Frank Paparelli   Composer
Valerie Simpson   Composer
Steve Skinner   Arranger
Russ Titelman   Producer
Cynthia Weil   Composer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Allan Rich   Composer
Derrick Edmondson   Horn Arrangements
Benjamin F. Wright   String Arrangements
Rail Jon Rogut   Engineer
Gerry DeVeaux   Composer
Lyn Bradley   Art Direction
Charlie Pizzarello   Cover Photo
Tammy Coleman-McCrary   Executive Producer
Tom Keane   Composer
Charlie Mole   Composer
Gregg Diamond   Composer

Customer Reviews