Get a $10 Gift Card When You Buy $100 or More in B&N Gift Cards
Endless Forms Most Beautiful [CD/DVD]

Endless Forms Most Beautiful [CD/DVD]

by Nightwish Nightwish
Endless Forms Most Beautiful [CD/DVD]

Endless Forms Most Beautiful [CD/DVD]

by Nightwish Nightwish

CD(Special Edition / Bonus DVD)

$13.29 $18.99 Save 30% Current price is $13.29, Original price is $18.99. You Save 30%.


The eighth studio long-player from the audacious Finnish symphonic metal outfit, Endless Forms Most Beautiful is also the first Nightwish outing to feature new vocalist Floor Jansen (After Forever, Revamp), who joined the group on the road in 2012 after the mid-tour departure of Anette Olzen. Nightwish has endured numerous lineup changes throughout its nearly 20-year career, but the band's sound has remained remarkably consistent, due in large part to the stabilizing presence of project founder and chief songwriter Tuomas Holopainen, whose overall vision for the band remains unchanged. Endless Forms Most Beautiful, like most Nightwish outings, is a concept album, though unlike 2011's narrative-driven Imaginaerum, it's a loosely conceptual affair that, according to Holopainen, celebrates the "beauty of life, the beauty of existence, nature, science." The title is taken from Charles Darwin's On the Origin of Species, and the reliably opulent (full choir and live orchestra) inaugural cut, "Shudder Before the Beautiful," opens appropriately with a spoken word intro from evolutionary biologist Richard Dawkins. It's a truly majestic piece and an excellent showcase for Jansen, who brings both gravitas and versatility to the table. Whether it's lilting Celtic folk-rock ("Élan"), Enya-esque fantasy-pop ("The Eyes of Sharbat Gula"), or straight-up, anthemic power metal ("My Walden"), she never overplays her hand, but she also never gets lost in the mix, which is impressive considering the swirling cacophony of sound cooked up by Holopainen and crew. Overall, Endless Forms Most Beautiful succeeds despite its strict adherence to the Nightwish formula. It's a well-oiled machine firing on all cylinders, both expansive and familiar, and it's arguably the group's most immediate-sounding record in years. [A CD/DVD set was also released.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 02/19/2016
Label: Nuclear Blast Americ
UPC: 0727361358525
catalogNumber: 3585
Rank: 43117


Disc 1

  1. Shudder Before the Beautiful
  2. Weak Fantasy
  3. Élan
  4. Yours Is an Empty Hope
  5. Our Decades in the Sun
  6. My Walden
  7. Endless Forms Most Beautiful
  8. Edema Ruh
  9. Alpenglow
  10. The Eyes of Sharbat Gula
  11. The Greatest Show on Earth

Disc 2

  1. Yours Is an Empty Hope
  2. Stranzers
  3. Planet Hell
  4. Lost of the Wilds
  5. Storytime
  6. Arabesque
  7. Last Ride of the Day
  8. Making of Endless Forms Most Beautiful
  9. Élan
  10. Endless Forms Most Beautiful
  11. Photo Gallery

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nightwish   Primary Artist
Troy Donockley   Bouzouki,Vocals,Bodhran,uillean pipes,Low Whistle,Group Member
Tuomas Holopainen   Piano,Keyboards,Group Member
Emppu Vuorinen   Guitar,Group Member
Marco Hietala   Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Vocals,Group Member
Floor Jansen   Vocals,Group Member
Richard Dawkins   Spoken Word
Kai Hahto   Drums

Technical Credits

Jussi Tegelman   Creation
Troy Donockley   Arranger
Mikko Karmila   Engineer
Nightwish   Producer
Tuomas Holopainen   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Emppu Vuorinen   Arranger
Jukka Nevalainen   Arranger
Marco Hietala   Arranger,Composer
Janne Pitkänen   Cover Art
Floor Jansen   Arranger
Ville Juurikkala   Band Photo
TeeCee Kinnunen   Arranger,Producer,Engineer
Gina Pitkänen   Cover Art
Kai Hahto   Arranger
Michael Taylor   Engineer

Customer Reviews