Emerald: Musical Gems

Emerald: Musical Gems

by Celtic Woman


$13.96 $13.99 Save 0% Current price is $13.96, Original price is $13.99. You Save 0%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 21


Not exactly a greatest-hits compilation and not quite a complete set of new material, 2014's Emerald: Musical Gems finds the internationally renowned Celtic pop quartet, which in this incarnation includes the talents of Chloë Agnew, Susan McFadden, Máiréad Nesbitt, and Lisa Lambe, the latter of whom joined the group in 2012 for the Believe LP, offering up re-imagined (as in re-recorded) renditions of traditional fan favorites like "She Moved Through the Fair," "Danny Boy," "Dúlaman," "Mo Ghile Mear," "Níl Sé'n Lá," and "The Parting Glass." Like all Celtic Woman offerings, Emerald is ultimately a classy affair that strikes a nice balance between the past and the present, hitting familiar beats and cadences with the precision of a well-oiled political machine whose sole purpose is to please its base, and it's kind of nice to hear the group focus almost solely on material that evokes the misty, post-Riverdance patina that the album's moniker suggests. That said, the sounds of the Emerald Isle may dominate the majority of the collection, but that doesn't stop the group from tossing in a trio of new interpretations of concert staples with "Bridge Over Troubled Water," "Amazing Grace," and the Secret Garden-penned, Josh Groban-popularized power ballad "You Raise Me Up," the latter of which arrives (mercifully) at the album's end. A bonus DVD includes an entire live concert filmed in 2013 on the campus of Notre Dame in South Bend, Indiana.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/25/2014
Label: Blue Note Records
UPC: 0602537644124
catalogNumber: 7644124
Rank: 7170

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Celtic Woman   Primary Artist
Eoghan O'Neill   Bass Guitar
Ray Fean   Drums,Vocals
David Downes   Piano,Conductor,Keyboards
Mairead Nesbitt   Group Member
Anthony Byrne   Bagpipes
Irish Film Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Ewan Cowley   Bouzouki,Guitar,Electric Guitar
John Page   Conductor
Chloë   Group Member
Mairead Carlin   Group Member
Discovery Gospel Choir   Choir, Chorus
Andrew Reilly   Percussion
Tommy Martin   Flute,uillean pipes
Susan McFadden   Group Member
Lisa Lambe   Group Member
Aontas Choir   Choir, Chorus
Shane McVicker   Piano

Technical Credits

Paul Simon   Composer
Andrew Boland   Engineer
David Downes   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Orchestration,Choir Arrangement,Music Direction,Whistle
Dave Kavanagh   Executive Producer
Traditional   Composer
C. Ni Dhubhghaill   Arranger
Caroline Nesbitt   Graphic Design
Synan O'Mahony   Illustrations
Tommy Martin   Whistle
Maggie Seidel   Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews