by Phil WoodsPhil Woods


$21.88 $22.99 Save 5% Current price is $21.88, Original price is $22.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, June 23


Phil Woods' prolific recordings for the Italian label Philology (which is named in his honor) are always enjoyable; this duo concert with pianist Enrico Pieranunzi is no exception. The creativity of both men during a jaunty "Have You Met Miss Jones?" would be a difficult standard for any group to match during a live performance, yet the duo does just that, seemingly without effort. A very lyrical take of "September Song," followed by "Someday My Prince Will Come" (with a particularly dreamy introduction), Phil's well-known gritty arrangement of "Willow Weep for Me," and a spacy take of the classic "You and the Night and the Music" all prove to be equally compelling. The alto saxophonist also revisits "Goodbye Mr. Evans," his touching elegy to pianist Bill Evans. Pieranunzi contributes two memorable numbers: "Night Bird," a piece also featured on Phil Woods & the Space Jazz Trio's earlier Philology CD Phil's Mood, and "Chet," a moody yet warm tribute to Chet Baker (with whom he recorded on Baker's final studio album). Hopefully, there will be many more collaborations involving these two greats.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/18/2013
Label: Philology Import
UPC: 8013284002068
catalogNumber: 8400206
Rank: 177941


  1. Have You Met Miss Jones?
  2. September Song
  3. Night Bird
  4. Elsa
  5. Someday My Prince Will Come
  6. Goodbye Mr. Evans
  7. Willow Weep for Me
  8. You and the Night and the Music
  9. Chet

Album Credits

Customer Reviews