Ellis Island (Cornerstones of Freedom: Third Series)

Ellis Island (Cornerstones of Freedom: Third Series)

by Melissa McDaniel


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Even before the first glorious ring of the Liberty Bell, America was a land of freedom and promise.

The Cornerstones of Freedom series explores what inspires people from all over the world to start life anew here, endure the economic and social upheavals, and defend the land and rights that are unique to the United States of America.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780531265567
Publisher: Scholastic, Inc.
Publication date: 09/08/2011
Series: Cornerstones of Freedom: Third Series
Pages: 64
Sales rank: 797,152
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 8.80(h) x 0.20(d)
Age Range: 9 - 12 Years

About the Author

McDaniel is a freelance writer and editor living in New York City.

Table of Contents

Setting the Scene: In Search of a Better Life 6

Chapter 1 Coming to America 8

Chapter 2 A New Land 18

Chapter 3 Island of Hope 28

Chapter 4 Stemming the Tide 42

Map of the Events: What Happened Where? 52

The Story Continues: Still the Land of Opportunity 54

Influential Individuals 56

Timeline 58

Living History 60

Resources 61

Glossary 62

Index 63

About the Author 64

Customer Reviews