Elementary, She Read (Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Series #1)

Elementary, She Read (Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Series #1)

by Vicki Delany

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


Fans of Sherlock Holmes will delight in the sleuthing duo of Gemma and Jayne in this clever and captivating series debut by the nationally bestselling author of the Year Round Christmas mysteries
Gemma Doyle, a transplanted Englishwoman, has returned to the quaint town of West London on Cape Cod to manage her Great Uncle Arthur's Sherlock Holmes Bookshop and Emporium. The shop—located at 222 Baker Street—specializes in the Holmes canon and pastiche, and is also home to Moriarty the cat. When Gemma finds a rare and potentially valuable magazine containing the first Sherlock Homes story hidden in the bookshop, she and her friend Jayne (who runs the adjoining Mrs. Hudson's Tea Room) set off to find the owner, only to stumble upon a dead body.
Gemma is the police's first suspect, so she puts her consummate powers of deduction to work to clear her name, investigating a handsome rare books expert, the dead woman's suspiciously unmoved son, and a whole family of greedy characters desperate to cash in on their inheritance. But when Gemma and Jayne accidentally place themselves at a second murder scene, it's a race to uncover the truth before the detectives lock them up for good.
“A delight—fast, fun, and full of Sherlockian lore. Cheers for a charming, intelligent heroine as observant as The Great Detective himself.” —Carolyn Hart, New York Times–bestselling author of Walking on My Grave

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781683310976
Publication date: 03/14/2017
Series: Sherlock Holmes Bookshop Series , #1
Sold by: Penguin Random House Publisher Services
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 2,906
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

Vicki Delany is one of Canada's most varied and prolific crime writers and a national bestseller in the U.S. Most recently, she is the author of The Year Round Christmas cozy mysteries from Berkley, The Sherlock Holmes Bookshop series from Crooked Lane and (writing under the pen name of Eva Gates) The Lighthouse Library mysteries also from Crooked Lane.

Although she's loving writing cozy mysteries these days, in the past she's written standalone novels of suspense (More Than SorrowBurden of Memory), a traditional village police procedural series (The Constable Molly Smith novels) and the lighthearted Klondike Gold Rush Series.

Customer Reviews