El Corazón

El Corazón

by Steve EarleSteve Earle


$16.91 $16.99 Save 0% Current price is $16.91, Original price is $16.99. You Save 0%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


Anyone who figured that Steve Earle's triumphant return to form on I Feel Alight was either a fluke or a burst of second wind attributable to his return to health got the message that Earle was back to stay with 1997's El Corazón. El Corazón isn't as consistently strong as I Feel Alright and lacks a bit of that album's thematic unity, but the high points connect just as powerfully, and the album kicks off with a tremendous one-two punch, the rousing acoustic ballad "Christmas in Washington" and "Taneytown," a harrowing story of race and violence backed with gale-force electric guitars. El Corazón is also a good bit more eclectic than much of Earle's previous work, dipping into bluegrass ("You Know the Rest," featuring backing from the Del McCoury Band), old-school country ("The Other Side of Town"), hard rock ("N.Y.C.," co-starring the Supersuckers, and "Here I Am"), and vintage R&B ("Telephone Road"). As its title suggests, El Corazón often deals with matters of the heart, expressed with particular eloquence on "Poison Lovers" and "If You Fall," though the song's most emotionally resonant moment comes with its closing song, "Ft. Worth Blues," a moving farewell to Earle's longtime friend and mentor Townes Van Zandt. Earle co-produced El Corazón with frequent studio partner Ray Kennedy, and the record sounds superb, with the vocals rich and the guitars potent, confirming that Earle is the best judge of his own recorded work. El Corazón isn't the instant classic that I Feel Alright was, but it's more than good enough to show that Earle was a major talent not about to go away, and it ranks with his most vital work.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/07/1997
Label: Warner Bros / Wea
UPC: 0093624678922
catalogNumber: 46789

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Steve Earle   Primary Artist,Guitar,Harmonica,Harmonium,Vocals,Mandola
Del McCoury   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Emmylou Harris   Vocals,Track Performer
Ray Kennedy   Drums,Harmonium,Tambourine,Shaker
Fairfield Four   Track Performer
Supersuckers   Track Performer
Dan Bolton   Electric Guitar
Mike Bub   Bass
Tommy Hannum   Steel Guitar
Roy M. "Junior" Husky   Bass
Brad Jones   Bass
Kelly Looney   Bass
Rob McCoury   Banjo
Ronnie McCoury   Mandolin,Vocals
Michael Smotherman   Organ
Dancing Eagle   Drums
Eddie Spaghetti   Bass
Ross Rice   Drums,Vocals
David Steele   Electric Guitar
Renaldo Allegre   Electric Guitar
Mark Stuart   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin
Justin Townes Earle   Electric Guitar
Jason Carter   Fiddle
Brady Blade   Percussion,Drums,Tambourine,Washboard

Technical Credits

Ray Kennedy   Engineer
Fairfield Four   Contributor
Steve Earle   Composer
Supersuckers   Contributor
Twangtrust   Producer
Jon Dunleavy   Engineer

Customer Reviews