Echoes of the Outlaw Roadshow

Echoes of the Outlaw Roadshow

by Counting CrowsCounting Crows


Poetic flagship heroes of the '90s alt-rock boom, Counting Crows rode the waves of success earned by their ubiquitous first few albums into subsequent decades, keeping legions of die-hard fans as they crafted new material to complement their massive early hits. This long-term trajectory is reflected somewhat on the band's fourth official live album, Echoes of the Outlaw Roadshow, an enthusiastic set recorded on tour in 2012 that offers up a cross section of newer songs and inspired, drawn-out readings of older crowd favorites. Interesting additions to the 15-song set list are the Dylan covers that open and close the show. A spare, haunted version of the already ghostly "Girl from the North Country" finds vocalist Adam Duritz and guitarist David Immerglück taking the technically traditional song into a slower, more tentative take on Dylan's arrangement. Similarly, a rousing full-band jam on "You Ain't Goin' Nowhere" is presented with full-on harmonies, breakdowns for crowd singalongs, and a sense of overall abandon and drunken mirth. In between these two bookends, the band offers up a ten-minute reading of its wintry ballad "Round Here," with Duritz vamping at length through the song's somber middle part until bringing the band back in for a strong conclusion. A similar reworking is applied to "Rain King," stretched into a more loose, rambling version with a dynamic range extended greatly from the original. Crows originals like "I Wish I Was a Girl" and "Four Days" are joined by a folky cover of the Grateful Dead's classic outlaw romper "Friend of the Devil," also delivered in a softer, alt-folk style with glowing harmonies. At this point in their career, it's refreshing to see some experimentation and stretching out from Counting Crows in their live set. It would have been far easier to offer up potentially stale live versions of their greatest hits, but Echoes of the Outlaw Roadshow is a far cry from the novelty act that the band could easily, and profitably, devolve into. Instead, Counting Crows sound both excited and at home in their own sound, turning in rock-solid performances of songs they've played a thousand times with the same energy as when they began.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/11/2013
Label: Underworld Records
UPC: 0020286215004
catalogNumber: 1

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Counting Crows   Primary Artist
Adam Duritz   Vocals
Dan Schwartz   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Background Vocals,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Keith Goodwin   Background Vocals
Pete Mathias   Background Vocals
Johnny Mathias   Background Vocals
Casey Gibson   Background Vocals
Millard   Acoustic Guitar,Bass Guitar,Background Vocals
Teddy Mathias   Background Vocals
Nate Babbs   Background Vocals
Brian Holl   Background Vocals
Eric Hillman   Background Vocals
Nathan Reich   Background Vocals
Outlaw Roadshow   Background Vocals
Clayton Fike   Background Vocals
Tim Arnold   Background Vocals
Andre "Don" Carter   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Norman Blake   Composer
Bob Dylan   Composer
Jerry Garcia   Composer
Robert Hunter   Composer
Andrew Baldwin   Audio Technician
David Bryson   Composer
John Dawson   Composer
Charlie Gillingham   Composer
David Immerglück   Composer
Van Morrison   Composer
Adam Duritz   Composer
Manny Alvarez   Guitar Techician
Bill Thomson   Guitar Techician
Sandy Cohen   Management
Dan Jewett   Composer
Dennis Woods   Merchandising
Mike Zielinski   Lighting Director
Sam Osland   Drum Technician
Julie Duffy   Tour Accountant
Mark DiDia   Management
Luke MacMaster   Composer
Tom Mullally   Tour Manager
Coby Brown   Composer
Rod MacSween   Booking
Shawn Dealey   Engineer
Bernie Gudvi   Management
Dave Janusko   Composer
Andrew Genger   Management
Timothy Garrett   Cover Art
Jeff Hinkle   Management
Tyler Sweet   Guitar Techician
Matt Moser   Audio Technician
James Leonti   Audio Technician
Robert Mahoney   Stage Manager
Greg Cimino   Legal Counsel
Christopher Roldan   Composer

Customer Reviews