by Gregory IsaacsGregory Isaacs


$15.61 $16.99 Save 8% Current price is $15.61, Original price is $16.99. You Save 8%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Ah, yes, those halcyon early days of embryonic ragga; Sly & Robbie, "Under Me Sleng Teng," and those rhythms that fueled dancehall hits over and over (and over) again. But why stop there, when with the push of a button you can reinvigorate veteran vocalists via this hip new style. It's easy. And Gregory Isaacs, like many other established singers, was keen to have a go, entering the studio with every notable producer of the age. Tad and Peter Dawkins, unlike most of the ragga producers of the time, had more of an interest in the synthesizer as a musical instrument, rather than as a percussive tool. So, while their beats didn't have the power of the competition, the musical arrangements tended to be far more interesting. In contrast to most of what was going on in the dancehall, Easy sounded very much like easy listening, but only because the producers had a light touch and a penchant for upbeat music. Isaacs reacted accordingly, and delivered up a set of silky performances, whose very warmth will be ever more evident in hindsight. Many of the songs are remodels of past hits, "Love Is Overdue" and "Tear Drops" included; also of note is a surprisingly original take on Jacob Miller's "Tenement Yard." All of Easy is very understated, but that's its true beauty. A charming little record, and, while not a classic by any standard, a totally enjoyable experience.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/05/2010
Label: Vp Records
UPC: 0781976024527
catalogNumber: 245
Rank: 47951

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Gregory Isaacs   Primary Artist,Vocals,Harmony
Carlton "Carly" Barrett   Drums
Mikey Boo   Drums
Tyrone Downie   Piano
Sly Dunbar   Drums
Wayne Hammond   Rhythm Guitar
Willie Lindo   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
David Madden   Trumpet
Lloyd Parks   Bass
Dwight Pinkney   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Style Scott   Drums
Robbie Shakespeare   Bass
Mallory Williams   Piano
Errol "Flabba" Holt   Bass
Rudy Thomas   Percussion
Dean Frazer   Saxophone
Robbie Lynn   Synthesizer,Hammond B3
Franklyn "Bubbler" Waul   Hammond B3
Dean's Crew   Harmony
Bungo Herman   Percussion

Technical Credits

Geoffrey Chung   Engineer,overdub engineer
Peter Dawkins   Arranger
Tad Dawkins   Producer
Noel Hearne   Engineer,overdub engineer
Gregory Isaacs   Composer
Roy Sweetland   Inside Photo
Michael Riley   overdub engineer
Tajoi J. Dawkins   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews