Earwig 16th Anniversary Sampler

Earwig 16th Anniversary Sampler


3 New & Used Starting at $14.51


Earwig was founded in 1979 by Michael Robert Frank, and it quickly become one of the top blues labels, recording artists based on the quality of their music rather than on sales potential. To celebrate Earwig's 16th anniversary, this 18-song collection of music from the label's catalog was put out in 1995. There is impressive variety on the single CD, with the settings ranging from Little Brother Montgomery's solo piano to rockish blues groups and everything in between. The selections were well chosen, and although sticking to the blues (no Motown, R&B, or soul music here), the disc shows the wide variety of music that appeared in the 1980s and '90s in the blues world. Overall, this CD gives one an excellent overview of some of the treasures in the Earwig catalog.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/14/1995
Label: Earwig
UPC: 0739788493321
catalogNumber: 4933

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Frank Frost   Harmonica,Piano,Vocals,farfisa organ
Big Walter Horton   Harmonica
Big Jack Johnson   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Floyd Jones   Bass
Little Brother Montgomery   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Louis Myers   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Eddie Taylor   Guitar
Jelly Roll Kings   Track Performer
H-Bomb Ferguson   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Big Leon Brooks   Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Steve Freund   Guitar
Jimmy Dawkins   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Homesick James Williamson   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Louisiana Red   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Robert Lockwood   Guitar
John Primer   Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals,Track Performer
Little Willie Anderson   Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Lurrie Bell   Guitar
Lester Davenport   Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Carey Bell   Harmonica
Fred Below   Drums
Aron Burton   Bass,Vocals,Track Performer
Larry Burton   Guitar
Sam Burton   Drums
Sam Carr   Drums
Marty Charters   Guitar
Robert Covington   Drums,Background Vocals
David "Honeyboy" Edwards   Guitar,Harmonica,Vocals,Track Performer
Robert Ferguson   Piano,Vocals
Bill Flynn   Rhythm Guitar
Johnny B. Gayden   Bass
Barrelhouse Chuck Goering   Piano
Fred Grady   Drums
James Herndon   Drums
Mervyn "Harmonica" Hinds   Harmonica
Nick Holt   Bass
Sammy Lawhorn   Rhythm Guitar
Lovie Lee   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
Eddie Lusk   Keyboards
Iverson Minter   Guitar,Vocals
Eurreal Montgomery   Piano,Vocals
Eric Neuhausser   Saxophone
Odie Payne   Drums
Pinetop Perkins   Piano
Michael Ray   Drums
Sunnyland Slim   Piano,Vocals,Track Performer
John Smith   Bass
Carl Snyder   Keyboards
Bob Stroger   Bass
Douglas Watson   Bass
Keenath Malachi Williams   Drums
Willie Black   Bass
Eddie Watson   Piano,Vocals
Willie Anderson   Harmonica,Vocals
Ray Scott   Drums
Pat Hall   Keyboards
Sam Burckhardt   Tenor Saxophone
Jim Brewer   Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Leon Brooks   Harmonica,Vocals
Tino Cortez   Drums
Chuck Goering   Piano
Eddie Butler   Rhythm Guitar
Kansas City Red   Drums,Vocals,Track Performer
Ernest Roy   Drums
Walter Roy   Bass
John "BJ John" Smith   Bass
Willie Black   Bass
Billy Flynn   Rhythm Guitar
Joe Poston   Drums
Will Davis   Rhythm Guitar,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Little Brother Montgomery   Producer
Michael Robert Frank   Producer,Liner Notes
Lovie Lee   Producer
Eurreal Montgomery   Producer
Jan Montgomery   Producer
Sunnyland Slim   Producer
George Hansen   Illustrations
Bob Corritore   Producer
George Hanson   Cover Design

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews