Early in the Morning + Deep Roots

Early in the Morning + Deep Roots

by Lorez Alexandria

CD(Bonus Tracks)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, January 30
2 New & Used Starting at $9.28


The two albums included on this spectacular double-disc collection were recorded for the Argo label in Chicago in 1960 and 1962, respectively. The first five cuts all feature Lorez Alexandria in the company of the Ramsey Lewis Trio (with Redd Holt and Eldee Young), plus guitarist John Gray. The last five tracks on disc one feature this quartet plus Frank Foster, Frank Wess, Joe Newman, Al Grey, and Freddie Green from Count Basie's group of the time. Ultimately, Early in the Morning is the most sophisticated kind of blues recording. The musical arrangements are both groove-laden and wonderfully impressionistic, allowing Alexandria's unusual delivery line plenty of space to play with on tracks such as "Trouble Is a Man," "I Ain't Got Nothing But the Blues," and "Rocks in My Bed." Deep Roots is the latter of these LPs; it was recorded with a killer group including trumpeter Howard McGhee, pianist John Young, guitarist George Eskridge, bassist Israel Crosby, and drummer Vernel Fournier (all members of Alexandria's performing group). The material is made up mostly of standards. It features Alexandria's readings of "Nature Boy," "I Want to Talk About You," "Trav'lin' Light," and "Softly, As in a Morning Sunrise" in her signature style. As a bonus, the compilers included two different versions of her most famous cut, "Baltimore Oriole." There's the 1957 original version and the smash from 1963. Both feature Ronald Wilson's fluttering flute, and the latter includes bassist Jimmy Garrison from John Coltrane's quartet. The material has been remastered from analog tapes and issued by Lone Hill's Phoenix imprint, making for an indispensable collection for Alexandria fans.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/15/2011
Label: Phoenix Spain
UPC: 8436539310532
catalogNumber: 3931053
Rank: 30985

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lorez Alexandria   Primary Artist,Vocals
Freddie Green   Rhythm Guitar
Grey   Trombone
Joe Newman   Trumpet
John Young   Piano
Eldee Young   Bass
King Fleming   Piano
John Gray   Guitar
Howard McGhee   Trumpet
Ramsey Lewis   Piano
Jimmy Garrison   Bass
Israel Crosby   Bass
George Eskridge   Guitar
Frank Foster   Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Vernel Fournier   Drums
Audrey Jones   Background Vocals
Frank Wess   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Russell Williams   Bass
Ronald Wilson   Flute,Tenor Saxophone
Wilbur Wynne   Guitar
Isaac "Redd" Holt   Drums
Philip Thomas   Drums

Technical Credits

Ivory Joe Hunter   Composer
Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
Billy Eckstine   Composer
Jimmy Lyons   Liner Notes
Buddy Johnson   Composer
King Fleming   Arranger
Alec Wilder   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Frank Loesser   Composer
Billie Holiday   Composer
Johnny Burke   Composer
Duke Ellington   Composer
Redd Evans   Composer
Benny Green   Liner Notes
Oscar Hammerstein   Composer
Arthur Herzog   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Johnny Pate   Composer
Eden Ahbez   Composer
Ralph J. Gleason   Liner Notes
Don George   Composer
Mack David   Composer
Little Miss Cornshucks   Composer
Edward C. Redding   Composer
Malcolm Mint   Liner Notes
Lerner   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews