by Johnnie TaylorJohnnie Taylor




Johnnie Taylor's biggest hit album also proved his undoing. Stax had collapsed, and he ended up on Columbia's roster. The disco boom was beginning, and Taylor had the perfect single. "Disco Lady" was vocally quite similar to his earlier material, but its lyrics embraced the hedonism and dance-your-troubles-away ethic of the era. It was not only a number one hit, but the song of the year for 1976, and Taylor was shoved into territory he wasn't comfortable in. The rest of the album was standard soul, but this was overlooked in the rush. Taylor eventually left the label after subsequent attempts to pigeonhole him as a dance singer bombed.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/2008
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886972418520
catalogNumber: 724185
Rank: 25085


  1. Disco Lady
  2. Please Don't Stop (That Song from Playing)
  3. Don't Touch Her Body (If You Can't Touch Her Mind)
  4. I'm Gonna Keep on Loving You
  5. You're the Best Girl in the World
  6. Running out of Lies
  7. Somebody's Gettin' It
  8. It Don't Hurt Me Like It Used To
  9. Pick up the Pieces
  10. Disco Lady
  11. Somebody's Gettin' It

Album Credits

Customer Reviews