Gloria Swanson
Director: Allan Dwan Cast: Gloria Swanson
Gloria Swanson
, H.B. Warner
H.B. Warner
, Ferdinand Gottschalk
Ferdinand Gottschalk
Allan Dwan

DVD (Subtitled)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


As a play, Zaza had been around for some 30 years and had already been filmed once before when Allan Dwan updated it and made it into a star vehicle for Gloria Swanson. His direction brought out Swanson's spontaneous side and although her performance was a bit uneven, she liked working with him so much that they went on to make several more films together. Zaza (Swanson) is an actress and the favorite at an open-air theater in a small French town. When diplomat Bernard Dufresne (H.B. Warner) comes to the village, he stays away for fear he will fall for her. But during one performance, while Zaza is singing on a swing, her rival (Mary Thurmon) cuts the rope and she falls. Zaza is badly injured and she makes Dufresne's acquaintance. A romance quickly springs up and he installs her in a villa. Their happiness is marred, however, when his wife appears and begs him to give Zaza up so he can take a high diplomatic assignment. Zaza thinks Dufresne has left her for another woman, and only after she travels to Paris does she realize he was already married and had a family. Broken-hearted, she turns her back on the affair. The years pass, World War I comes and goes, and the former lovers meet up once again. Dufresne's wife has died, so they are able to reunite.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/06/2017
UPC: 0738329212216
Original Release: 1923
Rating: NR
Source: Kino Classics
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:24:00
Sales rank: 52,607

Special Features

Piano score composed and performed by Jeff Rapsis, adapted from the original 1923 cue sheet; Audio Commentary by Frederic Lombardi, author of Allan Dwan and the Rise and Decline of the Hollywood Studios; Booklet essay by film historian Imogen Sara Smith

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Zaza
1. Chapter 1 [11:20]
2. Chapter 2 [8:12]
3. Chapter 3 [9:44]
4. Chapter 4 [7:32]
5. Chapter 5 [8:31]
6. Chapter 6 [7:18]
7. Chapter 7 [7:27]
8. Chapter 8 [8:36]
9. Chapter 9 [6:37]
10. Chapter 10 [8:42]
11. Chapter 11 [:01]

Customer Reviews