Women Without Men

Women Without Men

Pegah Ferydoni
Director: Shoja Y. Azari, Shirin Neshat Cast: Pegah Ferydoni
Pegah Ferydoni
, Shabnam Tolouei
Shabnam Tolouei
Shoja Y. Azari, Shirin Neshat,

DVD (Wide Screen / Color)

$16.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 5


Three women come together in a nation on the verge of a revolution in this drama from artist-turned-filmmaker Shirin Neshat. It's 1953, and political discord has gripped Iran as a military coup d'etat threatens to depose Prime Minister Mohammad Mossadegh. Munis (Shabnam Tolouei) is a thoughtful woman who has been following the news with great interest, though her brother Assad (Bijan Daneshmand) regards her interest in politics as foolish and unbecoming a woman. Munis' friend Faezeh (Pegah Ferydoni) shares some of her views, but is ultimately more interested in trying to impress Assad. Elsewhere in Tehran, Fakhri (Arita Shahrzad) is a woman who is well into middle age and married to a career military official who has lost interest in her both romantically and intellectually. And Zarin (Orsi Tóth) is a streetwalker who is looking for a life outside of selling her body to men who don't care about her. Eager to meet like-minded people, Fakhri tries to establish a literary salon for women, and Munis and Zarin join her in trying to find a satisfaction in the written word that has been denied them in life. Zanan-e Bedun-e Mardan (aka Women Without Men) was directed by Neshat in collaboration with Shoja Azari; it is the former's first feature film.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/13/2021
UPC: 0845637064267
Original Release: 2009
Source: Indiepix
Presentation: [Wide Screen, Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:39:00
Sales rank: 52,508

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Pegah Ferydoni Faezeh
Shabnam Tolouei Munis
Orsi Tóth Zarin
Arita Shahrzad Fakhri
Shahrzad Tolouei Actor

Technical Credits
Shoja Y. Azari Director,Associate Producer,Screenwriter
Shirin Neshat Director,Screenwriter
Abbas Bakhtiari Score Composer
Philippe Bober Producer
Denise Booth Co-producer
George Cragg Editor
Jerome de Noirmont Executive Producer
Ansgar Frerich Sound Mixer
Mina Ghoraishi Makeup
Barbara Gladstone Executive Producer
Martin Gschlacht Cinematographer,Producer
Uve Hassing Sound/Sound Designer
Uve Haussig Sound/Sound Designer
Shahram Karimi Set Decoration/Design
Oleg Kokhan Executive Producer
Patrick Lambertz Editor
Susanne Marian Producer
Sam Neave Editor
Lisa Olah Casting
Thomas Olah Costumes/Costume Designer
Jay Rabinowitz Editor
Peter Rommel Co-producer
Ryuichi Sakamoto Score Composer
Cristof Schertenleib Editor
Markus Schleinzer Casting
Heiko Schmidt Makeup
Joerg E. Schweizer Associate Producer
Sebastian Tesch Sound/Sound Designer
Julia Wiedwald Editor
Katharina Wöppermann Production Designer

Customer Reviews