Wombling Free

Wombling Free

DVD (Color / Wide Screen)


This children's fantasy is about the "Wombles," borrowed from a British TV series, who are furry creatures (actors in suits), normally invisible to anyone but themselves, and whose mission in life is to clean up after humans -- their first chore was to pick up the forgotten apple core in the Garden of Eden. The British Wombles know something is wrong when humans start to notice them, beginning with little Kim Frogmorton (Bonnie Langford) and then her parents. In a series of vignettes, Wombles alone, or humans alone, or both together handle disconnected misadventures -- such as saving the Womble burrow at Wimbledon, fighting against pollution, and moaning over adult topics like an oil shortage, and a theater shortage, for that matter. A few Wombles are professional beasties (such as Kenny Baker of R2-D2 fame), but for the most part, the scenarios are conventional and range from ordinary to insensitive.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/21/2013
UPC: 0851740003826
Original Release: 1977
Source: Scorpion Records
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen, Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:32:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
David Tomlinson Roland Frogmorton
Frances de la Tour Julia Frogmorton
Bonnie Langford Kim Frogmorton
Bernard Spear Arnold Takahasi
Yasuko Nagazumi Doris Takahasi
John Junkin Surveyor
Kenny Baker Womble
Jack Purvis Womble
Marcus Powell Womble
Brian Jones Womble
Albert Wilkinson Womble
Lionel Jeffries Wombles
David Jason Wombles
Janet Brown Wombles
Jon Pertwee Wombles
Johnny Graham Wombles
Reg Lye Actor
Sadie Corré Mrs. Cholet

Technical Credits
Lionel Jeffries Director,Screenwriter
Mike Batt Score Composer,Songwriter
Eleanor Fazan Choreography
Ray Frift Asst. Director
Alan Hume Cinematographer
Jack Shampan Art Director
Ian Shand Producer
Brian Smithies Special Effects
Peter Tanner Editor
Bill Warrington Special Effects

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Wombling Free
1. Chapter 1 [6:10]
2. Chapter 2 [5:41]
3. Chapter 3 [5:33]
4. Chapter 4 [8:26]
5. Chapter 5 [8:55]
6. Chapter 6 [10:09]
7. Chapter 7 [6:54]
8. Chapter 8 [3:48]
9. Chapter 9 [7:23]
10. Chapter 10 [3:28]
11. Chapter 11 [6:59]
12. Chapter 12 [4:13]
13. Chapter 13 [5:04]
14. Chapter 14 [8:22]
15. Chapter 15 [1:23]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews