Wives under Suspicion

Wives under Suspicion

Director: James Whale Cast: Warren William, Gail Patrick, William Lundigan


$6.61 $6.99 Save 5% Current price is $6.61, Original price is $6.99. You Save 5%.


James Whale's Wives Under Suspicion is remake of Whale's own 1933 production A Kiss Before the Mirror, with a few noticeable concessions for the more militant censors of 1938. District attorney Jim Stowell (Warren William) is convinced that every murder should be sentenced to the electric chair, regardless of motive or circumstances. He remains steadfast in this belief as he prosecutes an elderly professor (Ralph Morgan) for murdering his wife in a fit of jealous rage. But while relaxing at home one evening in the company of his lovely but somewhat neglected young wife Lucy (Gail Patrick), Stowell's own jealousy is aroused by Lucy's response to the innocent attentions of young family friend Phil (William Lundigan). As the days pass, Stowell cannot suppress his own urge to kill his wife and her supposed lover. An eleventh-hour plot twist prevents him from making the same mistake as the old professor-and also gives him a new perspective on the quality of mercy.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/27/2007
UPC: 0089218529398
Original Release: 1938
Source: Alpha Video
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 1:08:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Warren William District Atty. Jim Stowell
Gail Patrick Lucy Stowell
William Lundigan Phil
Constance Moore Elizabeth
Ralph Morgan Prof. Shaw McAllen
Cecil Cunningham Sharpy
Jonathan Hale Dan Allison
Samuel S. Hinds Dave Marrow
Lillian Yarbo Creola
Milburn Stone Kirk
James Flavin Jenks
Edwin Stanley The Judge
Charles Anthony Hughes Murphy
David Oliver Actor
Minerva Urecal Actor

Technical Credits
James Whale Director
Myles Connolly Screenwriter
Ladislas Fodor Original Story
Edmund Grainger Producer
Charles Maynard Editor
Jack Otterson Art Director
Charles Previn Musical Direction/Supervision
George Robinson Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Wives Under Suspicion
2. Chapter 1 [10:56]
3. Chapter 2 [12:20]
4. Chapter 3 [13:04]
5. Chapter 4 [11:41]
6. Chapter 5 [10:29]
7. Chapter 6 [8:40]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews