White Nights

White Nights

Mikhail Baryshnikov
Director: Taylor Hackford Cast: Mikhail Baryshnikov
Mikhail Baryshnikov
, Gregory Hines
Gregory Hines
, Jerzy Skolimowski
Jerzy Skolimowski
Taylor Hackford

DVD (Wide Screen)

$11.99 $14.99 Save 20% Current price is $11.99, Original price is $14.99. You Save 20%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The fancy footwork and star appeal of Gregory Hines as Raymond, an exiled American, and the powerful grace of Mikhail Baryshnikov as Nikolai, a defector, combine with a great production design to carry this otherwise thinly-stretched tale of intrigue. With a stellar supporting cast (Isabella Rossellini as Raymond's wife, Helen Mirren as Nikolai's lover, and Jerzy Skolimowski, the Polish director, as a wily KGB agent), the film has a few excellent moments. Nikolai has defected from the former USSR some time in the past. While on a trip, his plane spectacularly crashes on a runway in Siberia. Trapped in the country he had escaped, he is brought to stay with Raymond, an American who defected during the Vietnam war. Nikolai desperately wants to get out of the country, but the Russians have other plans.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/29/2006
UPC: 0043396159037
Original Release: 1985
Rating: PG-13
Source: Sony Pictures
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 2:16:00
Sales rank: 2,185

Special Features

Commentary by director Taylor Hackford; Pas de deux - The Making White Nights

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Mikhail Baryshnikov Nikolai "Kolya" Rodchenko
Gregory Hines Raymond Greenwood
Jerzy Skolimowski Col. Chaiko
Helen Mirren Galina Ivanova
Geraldine Page Anne Wyatt
Isabella Rossellini Darya Greenwood
John Glover Wynn Scott
Stefan Gryff Capt. Kirigin
William Hootkins Chuck Malarek
Shane Rimmer Ambassador Smith
Florence Faure Ballerina - Death
Nancy Klopper Actor
Susannah Morley Journalist in Opera House
Sergei Rousakov KGB Agent
Mark Sinden Charles
Elisa Tornqvist Journalist at Consulate House
Michael Petrovich Helicopter Pilot
David Savile Pilot
Ian Liston Co-pilot
Benny Young Flight Engineer
Hilary Drake Stewardess
Megumi Shimanuki Stewardess
Daniel Benzali Dr. Asher
Maria Werlander Child Ballerina
Galina Pomerantzeva Dvornik
Alexander Naumov KGB #2
Maryam D'Abo French Girlfriend
Josephine Buchan Caroline
Helene Denbey Bess
Jiri Stanislav Chaiko's Driver
Edward Ochagavia KGB Agent
Marc Michalsky KGB Agent
Andreas Markos Escamilla

Technical Credits
Taylor Hackford Director,Producer
Mikhail Baryshnikov Choreography
Stephen Bishop Songwriter
Bill Borden Associate Producer
Michel Colombier Score Composer
Richard Dawking Art Director
Nancy Dowd Screenwriter
William S. Gilmore Producer
James Goldman Original Story,Screenwriter
Martin Gutteridge Special Effects
Philip Harrison Production Designer
Evangeline Harrison Costumes/Costume Designer
Eric Hughes Screenwriter
Garth Inns Special Effects
Madeline Masters Makeup
Malcolm Middleton Production Designer
Roland Petit Choreography
Phil Ramone Musical Direction/Supervision
Lionel Richie Songwriter
Neville Smallwood Makeup
Austen Spriggs Art Director
William Steinkamp Editor
Frederic Steinkamp Editor
Twyla Tharp Choreography
David Watkin Cinematographer
Ian Wingrove Special Effects
Clive Winter Sound/Sound Designer
Joan Wollard Set Decoration/Design

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- White Nights
1. Start [9:58]
2. The Flight to Japan [5:23]
3. Norilsk Air Defense Base [6:34]
4. "There's a Boat Leaving for NY" [4:43]
5. Chaiko Comes on Business [4:45]
6. Nikolai Meets the Greenwoods [4:42]
7. Raymond's Story [7:36]
8. The Mines [2:25]
9. Raymond Apologizes [5:08]
10. Home After Eight Years [3:22]
11. "My Love Is Chemical" [5:10]
12. Galina Ivanova [6:12]
13. Shower Exit [7:16]
14. Decadent Dinner Interruption [4:24]
15. At the Kirov With Galina [6:20]
16. Wynn Scott [3:32]
17. "People Have Got to Move" [7:33]
18. "Separate Lives" [4:15]
19. "Prove Me Wrong" [4:54]
20. In Galina's Office [2:43]
21. A Last Look at the Kirov [2:21]
22. "Snake Charmer" [3:00]
23. Out on a Limb [7:47]
24. Off to Meet Scott [3:20]
25. In Pursuit [1:04]
26. The Embassy Gates [3:58]
27. Even Exchange [3:48]
28. "Say You, Say Me" [4:00]

Customer Reviews