What a Girl Wants

What a Girl Wants

Amanda Bynes
Director: Dennie Gordon Cast: Amanda Bynes
Amanda Bynes
, Colin Firth
Colin Firth
, Kelly Preston
Kelly Preston
Dennie Gordon

DVD (Wide Screen / Repackaged)

$14.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, April 19


Loosely based on the 1958 comedy The Reluctant Debutante starring Sandra Dee, the family-friendly comedy What a Girl Wants features popular Nickelodeon teen star Amanda Bynes in her first feature-starring performance after her debut in Big Fat Liar. She plays teenager Daphne Reynolds, who lives in New York City with her musician mother, Libby (Kelly Preston). After she turns 17, Daphne is undecided about her future, so she takes off by herself to London in search of her father. She immediately meets cute musician Ian (Oliver James) before sneaking in to her father's estate to surprise him. He turns out to be Lord Henry Dashwood (Colin Firth), a fabulously wealthy aristocrat who doesn't even know that she exists. He had met her mother in Morocco and the two were married in a tribal ceremony. Upon their return to England, she left him and went back to the U.S. without ever revealing that she was pregnant. The uptight Henry is already flustered by his campaign for election, advised by doting aide Alistair Payne (Jonathan Pryce). His no-nonsense fiancée, Glynnis (Anna Chancellor), and her bratty daughter, Clarissa (Christina Cole), are threatened by Daphne's presence, thinking that she will hurt Henry's political aspirations by causing a scandal. However, the family matriarch (Eileen Atkins) takes a liking to her and she soon finds herself trying to liven things up at several stuffy aristocratic parties. Meanwhile, the evil Glynnis and Clarissa conspire against her by trying to sabotage her appearance, leading up to the conclusion at Daphne's very own coming-out party.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/08/2009
UPC: 0883929084999
Original Release: 2003
Rating: PG
Source: Warner Home Video
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 1:45:00
Sales rank: 1,441

Special Features

Closed Caption; 2 feature-length audio commentaries, one by Amanda Bynes, the other by director Dennie Gordon and writers Jenny Bicks and Elizabeth Chandler; Fashion and Etiquette 101 takes a lighthearted look at what it takes to be belle of the ball; What's a girl to wear?; Mix and match interactive challenge; Theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Amanda Bynes Daphne
Colin Firth Lord Henry Dashwood
Kelly Preston Libby Reynolds
Eileen Atkins Jocelyn Dashwood
Jonathan Pryce Alistair Payne
Anna Chancellor Glynnis
Oliver James Ian Wallace
Christina Cole Clarissa Payne
Sylvia Syms Princess Charlotte
Ben Scholfield Armistead Stuart
Tom Harper Actor
Chris Mulkey Actor
Erik Von Detten Actor
Matt Acheson Country Club Wedding Singer
Stephen W. Anderson Television Reporter
Roger Ashton-Griffiths Lord Orwood
Charlie Beall Rufus
James Bell Libby's Band Member
Newton Boothe Taxi Driver
Natalie Bromley Jane
Antony Carrick Prince Michael
Chris Castle Prince Harry
Flaminia Cinque Caterer
Andrew Clarke Male Twin 1
Peter Clarke Male Twin 2
Judy Collins Dancer
Ethel Crichlow Dancer
Ash Croney Dancer
Raffaello Dagruttola Groom
Malcolm Davey Dancer
Layla Ellison Dancer
Tim Fornara Ian's Band Member
Luke Fredericks Ian's Band Member
Tom Goodfellow Libby's Band Member
James Greene Percy
David Gyasi Ian's Band Member
Tom Hanna Ian's Band Member
Peter Hugo Prince Charles
Peter Jessup Dancer
Jafri Jobaid Dancer
Tony Kemp Dancer
Stephanie Lane Fiona
Allan Laza Dancer
James Linton Political Advisor Two
Anne Lucas Dancer
Sarah Mark Newspaper Reporter #2
Soleil McGhee Young Daphne
Count Prince Miller Dancer
George Miller Dancer
Susan Mills Dancer
Nita Mistry Girl in Hostel
Ella Desmond Oakley Baby Daphne
Steven Osborne Staff Member
Bharti Patel Dancer
Basil Patton Dancer
Tom Penn Libby's Band Member
Neville Phillips Butler
Cassie Powney Peach Orwood
Connie Powney Pear Orwood
Vernon Preston Duke of Edinburgh
Mindy Lee Raskin Bride
Peter Reeves Sir John Dashwood
Elizabeth Richard Queen
Jonah Russell Policeman
Louis Saint-Juste Dancer
Barrington Shaw Dancer
Tara Summers Noelle
David Temple Ian's Band Member
Sian Todd Dancer
Mike Toller Libby's Band Member
Bruno Tonioli Fashion Emcee
Stanley Townsend Bride's Father
Daniel Tuite Newspaper Reporter #1
Matthew Turpin Prince William
Jane Victory Dancer
Pieter Vodden Sven
Thomas Michael Voss Dancer
June Walker Dancer
Maureen Waters Dancer
David Whitmey Ian's Band Member
Victoria Wicks Henry's Secretary
James Woolley Political Advisor One

Technical Credits
Dennie Gordon Director
Rebecca Alleway Set Decoration/Design
Debra Baum Musical Direction/Supervision
Jenny Bicks Screenwriter
Michael Carlin Production Designer
Elizabeth Chandler Screenwriter
Colin Charles Sound/Sound Designer
Suzanne Crowley Casting
Shay Cunliffe Costumes/Costume Designer
Denise Di Novi Producer
Andrew Dunn Cinematographer
E.K. Gaylord Executive Producer
Bill Gerber Producer
Alison Greenspan Executive Producer
Steve Harding Co-producer
Casey La Scala Executive Producer
Hunt Lowry Producer
Chuck McClelland Editor
Michael Murray Asst. Director
Gilly Poole Casting
Rupert Gregson-Williams Score Composer
Brian Simmons Sound/Sound Designer
Richard Styles Asst. Director
Karen Wakefield Art Director

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- What a Girl Wants
1. Once Upon a Time [4:44]
2. No Dance Partner [5:32]
3. My Turn [2:23]
4. Next Prime Minister [3:07]
5. Dashwood Manor [3:39]
6. Be Our Guest [4:25]
7. Mature for Her Age [3:45]
8. What Are Stepsisters For? [4:15]
9. Showstopper [3:59]
10. For the Season [5:03]
11. Pointers [2:53]
12. Novelty Entrance [2:39]
13. Nasty and Nice [2:56]
14. Livening Things Up [3:12]
15. Closer Look [1:40]
16. Just Joking [2:58]
17. Born to Stand Out [4:19]
18. The Regatta [3:10]
19. Splashy Getaway [4:16]
20. Another Henry [2:49]
21. A Dashwood Too [4:47]
22. Looking Different [3:48]
23. Gotten Rid Of [2:58]
24. Done Waiting [4:49]
25. Bits and Pieces [3:08]
26. Priorities Straight [3:25]
27. Their Dance [4:17]
28. Happily Ever After [5:40]

Customer Reviews