Malin Akerman
Director: Zack Snyder Cast: Malin Akerman
Malin Akerman
, Billy Crudup
Billy Crudup
, Matthew Goode
Matthew Goode
Zack Snyder

DVD (Color / Wide Screen)

$19.70 $20.99 Save 6% Current price is $19.7, Original price is $20.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


300's Zack Snyder brings Alan Moore and Dave Gibbons' critically acclaimed comic book Watchmen to the big screen, courtesy of DC Comics and Warner Bros. Pictures. Set in an alternate universe circa 1985, the film's world is a highly unstable one where a nuclear war is imminent between America and Russia. Superheroes have long been made to hang up their tights thanks to the government-sponsored Keene Act, but that all changes with the death of The Comedian (Jeffrey Dean Morgan), a robust ex-hero commando whose mysterious free fall out a window perks the interest of one of the country's last remaining vigilantes, Rorschach (Jackie Earle Haley). His investigation leads him to caution many of his other former costumed colleagues, including Dr. Manhattan, Night Owl (Patrick Wilson), Ozymandias (Matthew Goode), Sally Jupiter (Carla Gugino), and her daughter, The Silk Spectre (Malin Akerman). Heralded for bringing the world of superheroes into the literary world, Watchmen gave the super-powered mythos a real-life grounding that had been missing in mainstream comics to that point. The film adaptation had languished in one form of development hell or another for years after the book's release, with various directors on and off the project, including Terry Gilliam, David Hayter, and Darren Aronofsky, as well as Paul Greengrass, whose eventual dismissal stemmed from budget conflicts with the studio.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/21/2009
UPC: 0883929057795
Original Release: 2009
Rating: R
Source: Warner Home Video
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen, Color]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 3:06:00
Sales rank: 34,691

Special Features

The Phenomenon: The Comic That Changed Comics: the original graphic novel's groundbreaking impact; All 11 Watchmen video journals; My chemical romance desolation row music video

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Malin Akerman Laurie Jupiter/Silk Spectre II
Billy Crudup Dr. Manhattan/Jon Osterman
Matthew Goode Adrian Veidt/Ozymandias
Carla Gugino Sally Jupiter/Silk Spectre
Jackie Earle Haley Rorschach/Walter Kovacs
Jeffrey Dean Morgan Edward Blake/Comedian
Patrick Wilson Dan Dreiberg/Nite Owl
Matt Frewer Moloch
Stephen McHattie Hollis Mason
Laura Mennell Janey Slater
Rob La Belle Wally Weaver
Robert Wisden Richard Nixon
Gary Houston John McLaughlin
James Michael Connor Pat Buchanan
Mary Ann Burger Eleanor Clift
John Shaw Doug Roth
Jerry Wasserman Detective Fine
Don Thompson Detective Gallagher
Frank Novak Henry Kissinger
Sean Allan NORAD General
Garry Chalk NORAD General
Ron Fassler Ted Koppel
Stephanie Belding Janet Black
Michael Kopsa Paul Klein
William Taylor Prison Psychiatrist
Chris Burns Dumb Thug
Malcolm Scott Fat Thug
Danny Wattley Huge
Nhi Do Vietnamese Girl
Walter Addison Lee Iacocca
Keith Martin Gordrey Auto CEO
David MacKay Child Murderer

Technical Credits
Zack Snyder Director
Michelle Allen Casting
Tyler Bates Score Composer
Greg Cannom Makeup Special Effects
Kristy Carlson Casting
Wesley Coller Co-producer
Larry Fong Cinematographer
Herbert W. Gains Executive Producer
Lawrence Gordon Producer
David Hayter Screenwriter
William Hoy Editor
Helen Veronica Jarvis Art Director
Lloyd Levin Producer
Alex McDowell Production Designer
Michael McGee Sound Mixer
Jeremy Peirson Sound/Sound Designer
Deborah Snyder Producer
Alex Tse Screenwriter
Thomas Tull Executive Producer
Martin Walters Asst. Director
Michael Wilkinson Costumes/Costume Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- WATCHMEN
1. Unforgettable Fall [5:38]
2. Changing Times Credits [5:34]
3. Somebody Knows Why [4:48]
4. Us Retired Guys [3:00]
5. Hiding In Plain Sight [4:42]
6. Friendly Warnings [2:50]
7. Interference [4:58]
8. Not That Many Laughs [4:48]
9. Tough All Over [4:34]
10. Vietnam Victory Night [3:57]
11. Right Leadership [2:28]
12. What Happened to Us? [4:13]
13. Moloch's Second Visitor [4:29]
14. I am Pagliacci [2:06]
15. Unwanted Responsibilty [2:41]
16. Shadows In the Fog [3:14]
17. Leave Me Alone [7:09]
18. Old Photographs [1:51]
19. The Accident [3:31]
20. Something Lethal [2:01]
21. Tired of Earth [3:00]
22. Executive Decision [5:04]
23. Making a Killing [:23]
24. Framed [4:01]
25. Rorshach Test [5:51]
26. Dogs Get Put Down [4:00]
27. He Doesn't See Me [4:57]
28. Tired of Being Afraid [:49]
29. Night Riders [6:52]
30. Come and Get Me [3:27]
31. Prison Break [5:44]
32. Final Battle [3:03]
33. How Do We Do Things [4:16]
34. Do It For Me [4:54]
35. Pyramid Scheme [4:12]
36. Shattering and Miraculous [2:41]
37. Antarctica Arrival [4:56]
38. World's Punishment [6:43]
39. Detonation [2:42]
40. Reassembled [4:25]
41. Keep Your Own Secrets [3:22]
42. Goodbyes [3:05]
43. Still America [3:30]
44. End Credits [4:04]

Customer Reviews