Torture Ship

Torture Ship

Director: Victor Halperin Cast: Lyle Talbot, Irving Pichel, Jacqueline Wells

DVD (Black & White)

3 New & Used Starting at $3.89


Torture Ship is a strange amalgam of crime thriller and horror chiller that can't quite make up its mind what it wants to be. Irving Pichel plays Dr. Herbert Stander, a well-meaning physician who becomes a little too much the single-minded visionary. Convinced that criminality is a result of a glandular condition, he assembles an array of escaped convicts -- from small-time grifters to murderers and psychopaths who have nothing to lose (or so they think) -- and takes them out to sea. The doctor begins performing nasty operations and other (usually lethal) experiments on them. The ship's captain (Lyle Talbot) allows this to go on, believing in the doctor's better nature. The criminals know what's going on, but between the doctor's own strong-arm men and the unwillingness of the crew to intervene, they're not able to protect themselves. It's only when Talbot's character gets a first-hand glimpse of the doctor's work that he raises a hand against him, ordering the crew, working in tandem with the wanted men and women, to take control of the ship from the doctor, who is destroyed by his own intended victims.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/15/2003
UPC: 0089218414298
Original Release: 1939
Rating: NR
Source: Alpha Video
Presentation: [B&W]
Time: 0:57:00

Special Features

[None specified]

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Lyle Talbot Lt. Bob Bennett
Irving Pichel Dr. Herbert Stander
Jacqueline Wells Joan Martel
Sheila Bromley Mary Slavish
Anthony Averill Dirk
Eddie Holden Ole Olson
Wheeler Oakman Ritter
Leander de Cordova Ezra
Demetrius Alexis Murano
Skelton Knaggs Jesse
Adia Kuznetzoff Krantz
Stanley Blystone Briggs
Julian Madison Paul
Russell Hopton Harry

Technical Credits
Victor Halperin Director
David Chudnow Score Composer
John H. Greenhalgh Cinematographer
Fred Preble Art Director
George Wallace Sayre Screenwriter
Holbrook Todd Editor

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Chapter 1 [10:00]
2. Chapter 2 [9:39]
3. Chapter 3 [9:23]
4. Chapter 4 [10:41]
5. Chapter 5 [10:00]
6. Chapter 6 [12:52]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews