Marjorie Main
Director: S. Sylvan Simon Cast: Marjorie Main
Marjorie Main
, ZaSu Pitts
ZaSu Pitts
, Aline MacMahon
Aline MacMahon
S. Sylvan Simon

DVD (Full Frame)

Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


In this comedy, the town gossip fills her time running the lives of others. Naturally, she is also a matchmaker. When she tries to find a suitable mate for her nephew, trouble ensues because he only has eyes for the daughter of the busybody's nemesis, the town judge. Meanwhile the girl the town yente wanted for her nephew finds herself attracted to the judge's son and ends up marrying him on the sly. He impregnates her and then goes to war. She later gives birth, but dies before she can tell anyone the truth. To protect her, the old gossip begins claiming the babe as her own. No one believes her. Fortunately, the judge's son returns and tells the truth.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/10/2012
UPC: 0883316482988
Original Release: 1942
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:24:00
Sales rank: 56,109

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Marjorie Main Letitia Carberry
ZaSu Pitts Aggie Pilkington
Aline MacMahon Lizzie Wilkins
Susan Peters Cora Edwards
Lee Bowman Charlie Sands
Guy Kibbee Judge Bowser
Virginia Grey Katherine Bowser
Richard Quine Ted Bowser
Al Shean Rev. Ostermaier
Gerald Oliver Smith Butler
Jessie Arnold Woman on Street
Sam Ash Actor
King Baggot Men on Street
Margaret Bert Mrs. Phelps
Nora Cecil Actor
William Farnum Gardener
Howard Hickman Mr. Kelbridge
Gertrude W. Hoffman Spinster
George Humbert Italian
Robert E. O'Connor Game Warden
Kathrun Sheldon Acidulous Spinster
Byron Shores Dr. McRegan
Arthur Space Court Clerk
Rudy Wissler Newsboy

Technical Credits
S. Sylvan Simon Director
Orville O. Dull Producer
Cedric Gibbons Art Director
Robert J. Kern Editor
Harry Ruskin Screenwriter
Thomas Seller Screenwriter
David Snell Score Composer
Paul Vogel Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Tish
1. Chapter 1 [10:00]
2. Chapter 2 [10:00]
3. Chapter 3 [10:00]
4. Chapter 4 [10:00]
5. Chapter 5 [10:00]
6. Chapter 6 [10:00]
7. Chapter 7 [10:00]
8. Chapter 8 [10:00]
9. Chapter 9 [4:29]

Customer Reviews