Three Ballets by Kenneth MacMillan: Elite Syncopations/The Judas Tree/Concerto

Three Ballets by Kenneth MacMillan: Elite Syncopations/The Judas Tree/Concerto

Sarah Lamb
Director: Ross MacGibbon Cast: Sarah Lamb
Sarah Lamb
, Mara Galeazzi
Mara Galeazzi
, Valeri Hristov
Valeri Hristov
Ross MacGibbon

DVD (Wide Screen / DTS)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Royal Ballet's signature style gestated and evolved over the course of many years, and was shaped by numerous choreographers. But few left as much of an enduring impact as Kenneth MacMillan (1929-92), who used the dance milieu to create bold, provocative personal visions onstage. This box set celebrates MacMillan's influence and legacy, with three very different productions done over a 26 year period. It begins with the 1974 Elite Syncopations, a colorful and jocular piece set to the languorous rhythms of American ragtime, that stars Mara Galeazzi, Sarah Lamb, Valeri Hristov and Steven McRae. The second production in the set, 1992's The Judas Tree, weaves a tragedy of classical proportions in its recounting of a woman who meets a grisly fate from 13 men; it stars Leanne Benjamin, Carlos Acosta and Edward Watson. Finally, the 1966 Concerto constitutes an abstract work set to the music of Dmitry Shostakovich. It co-stars Steven McRae, Yuhui Choe and Marianela Nuñez.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/16/2010
UPC: 0809478010388
Original Release: 2010
Source: Bbc / Opus Arte
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [DTS 5.1-Channel Surround Sound, Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:54:00
Sales rank: 50,804

Special Features

Introductions by Deborah MacMillan

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Sarah Lamb (Elite Syncopations)
Mara Galeazzi (Elite Syncopations)
Valeri Hristov (Elite Syncopations)
Steven McRae (Elite Syncopations),Concerto
Carlos Acosta (The Judas Tree)
Leanne Benjamin (The Judas Tree)
Edward Watson (The Judas Tree)
Bennet Gartside (The Judas Tree)
Yuhui Choe Concerto
Marianela Nuñez Concerto
Rupert Pennefather Concerto
Helen Crawford Concerto
Robert Clark Conductor
Dominic Grier Conductor
Barry Wordsworth Conductor

Technical Credits
Ross MacGibbon Director
Brian Elias Score Composer
Kenneth MacMillan Choreography
Dmitry Shostakovich Score Composer
Ian Spurling Costumes/Costume Designer
James Whitbourn Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Three Ballets by Kenneth MacMillan: Elite Syncopations/The Judas Tree/Concerto
1. Sunflower Slow Drag [2:20]
2. Elite Syncopations [2:33]
3. The Cascades [2:28]
4. Hot-House Rag [2:19]
5. Calliope Rag [3:12]
6. Ragtime Nightingale [3:14]
7. The Golden Hours [3:02]
8. Stop Time Rag [3:08]
9. The Alaskan Rag [3:48]
10. Bethena (Concert Waltz) [4:01]
11. Friday Night [1:53]
12. Cataract Rag [3:03]
13. Credits [2:57]
1. Opening [2:20]
2. The Woman Arrives [2:33]
3. The Men React [2:28]
4. The Friend [2:19]
5. The Foreman [3:12]
6. The Other Friend [3:14]
7. Two Workmen Fight [3:02]
8. The Workmen [3:08]
9. The Woman and the Foreman [3:48]
10. The Woman and the Friend [4:01]
11. The Woman and the Workmen [1:53]
12. The Friends [3:03]
13. The Workmen [2:57]
14. Credits
1. Opening [:55]
2. First Movement [8:54]
3. Second Movement [8:46]
4. Third Movement [6:52]
5. Credits [2:34]

Customer Reviews