They Shall Have Music

They Shall Have Music

Jascha Heifetz
Director: Irma Von Cube, Archie Mayo Cast: Jascha Heifetz
Jascha Heifetz
, Andrea Leeds
Andrea Leeds
Irma Von Cube, Archie Mayo,


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, April 21


This musical drama follows a young ghetto kid who dreams of being a classical musician like his idol Jascha Heifetz. He first hears the renowned violinist after finding a ticket to Carnegie Hall on the sidewalk one day. The young man is so inspired by what he hears that he enrolls in Professor Lawson's inner-city music school. Unfortunately, the school teeters on the brink of bankruptcy. Fortunately the determined young boy convinces his street buddies to help him plead with Heifetz to help them save the school by doing a benefit concert. The master violinist agrees and saves the day.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/12/2014
UPC: 0888574073602
Original Release: 1939
Source: Warner Archives
Time: 1:42:00
Sales rank: 36,704

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Jascha Heifetz Himself
Andrea Leeds Ann Lawson
Joel McCrea Peter McCarthy
Gene Reynolds Frankie
Walter Brennan Prof. Lawson
Porter Hall Mr. Flower
Terry Kilburn Limey
Walter Tetley Rocks Mulligan
Chuck Stubbs Fever Jones
Tommy Kelly Willie
Alfred Newman Musical director
Mary Ruth Suzy
Marjorie Main Mrs. Miller
Arthur Hohl Ed Miller
Paul Harvey Heifetz's Manager
Jessie Arnold Woman in Alley
Arthur Aylesworth Actor
Stanley Blystone Actor
Wade Boteler Police Lieutenant
Virginia Brissac Willie's Mother
Dorothy Christy Young Woman
Charles Coleman Heifetz's Butler
Dulce Daye Women in Line
Alan Edwards Actor
James Flavin Police Sergeant
John Hamilton Detective
Roger Imhof Actor
Perry Ivins Mr. Wallace
Frank Jaquet Mr. Morgan
John Kelly Actor
Ethan Laidlaw Actor
John Farrell MacDonald Police Chief
Louis Mason Deputy
Emory Parnell Actor
Lee Phelps Policeman in Auditorium
Alexander Schoenberg Davis
Wyndham Standing Actor
Paul Stanton Inspector Johnson
Emmett Vogan Police Chief's Aide
Bryant Washburn Usher
Marjorie Wood Mother
Gale Sherwood Betty
Effie Anderson Actor
John St. Polis Davis
Diana Lynn Bit Part

Technical Credits
Irma Von Cube Director,Screenwriter
Archie Mayo Director
James Basevi Art Director
Samuel Goldwyn Producer
John Howard Lawson Screenwriter
Alfred Newman Score Composer,Musical Direction/Supervision
Robert R. Presnell Screenwriter
Robert Riskin Producer
Sherman Todd Editor
Gregg Toland Cinematographer
Anthony Veiller Screenwriter

Customer Reviews