The Way Back

The Way Back

Ben Affleck
Director: Gavin O'Connor Cast: Ben Affleck
Ben Affleck
, Al Madrigal
Al Madrigal
, Michaela Watkins
Michaela Watkins
Gavin O'Connor


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Directed by Gavin O'Connor and starring Ben Affleck, this sports drama is about an alcoholic widower struggling to redeem himself by turning his life around through coaching the basketball team of his high school alma mater. The experience brings him back to his glory days as a former promising athlete, in the process making him confront the old demons that derailed his life during his younger years. Janina Gavankar and Michaela Watkins co-star.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/19/2020
UPC: 0883929701179
Original Release: 2020
Rating: PG-13
Source: Warner Home Video
Time: 1:48:00
Sales rank: 1,356

Special Features

The Way Back: This Sporting Life Director Gavin O'Connor and Ben Affleck discuss sports as a metaphor for life, and how competition can help us understand ourselves; Every Loss Is Another Fight: The Road to Redemption A revealing look into the character of Jack Cunningham with Affleck and O'Connor

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Ben Affleck Jack Cunningham
Al Madrigal Dan
Michaela Watkins Actor
Janina Gavankar Actor
Glynn Turman Actor
Hayes MacArthur Eric
Da'Vinci Devon Childress
Rachael Carpani Diane
Todd Stashwick Kurt
Marlene Forte Gale
Inka Kyto Basketball Fan
Melvin Gregg Marcus Parrish
T.K. Carter Russ
Lukas Gage Eddie
Jeremy Ratchford Matty
Will Ropp Kenny Dawes
Caleb Thomas Mike Ball Boy
Sal Velez Miguel
Yennifer Behrens Sofia
Chris Bruno Sal
Christine Horn Doctor
Mike G. Employee
Brandon Wilson Brandon
Jayne Taini Susan Norris
Edelyn Okano Denise
Emelia Golfieri Sarah
Charles Lott Chubbs
Olivia Cannizzo Cheerleader
Nico David Ryan
Kristen Kash Student
Tom Archdeacon Ethan
Layla Golfieri Sarah
Craig Reed Bar Patron w/Truck
Jay Abdo Liquor Store Owner
Jerimiyah Dunbar Memorial Basketball Player #14
Savannah Cruz Dougherty Student
Jedediah Jenk Basketball Fan
Christina Sergoyan Cheerleader
James P. Harkins Burly Man
Jeremy Radin Father Mark Whelan
Chieko Hidaka Haley
Ben Irving Bobby Freeze
Chad Mountain Pat
Justice Alan David
Noah Ballou Opposing Coach
Rylee Cravens Hayes Student
Tyler O'Malley Daly
Roman Mathis Carter
Ashlie Garrett Face Painted Basketball Fan
Troy Brookins Memorial Basketball Player
Cliff L. Powell Memorial Basketball Player
Cynthia Rose Hall Nancy
Shay Roundtree Ken
Josh Latzer Construction Worker #1
Herbert Morales Dearborn
Fernando Luis Vega Sam Garcia
Brian Nuesi Basketball Player 7
Nate Luis Silva Memorial Student Fan
Carly Schneider Cheerleader
April Adams Betty
Sandy Fletcher Summit Coach
Manny Streetz Construction Worker
Shantiel Alexis Vazquez Basketball Fan
Armando DuBon Construction Worker
Sarah Glassman Memorial Student
Nicholas Benenati Memorial Basketball Player
Az Rudman HS Student
Mason Blomberg Birthday Party Guest
Rotem Hacker Memorial Student
Luke Steinborn Banner Guy #1
R.J. Asher Bar Patron
Alexander Tassopoulos Basketball Player
Zion Bell Statkeeper
Mateo Ortiz Amato
Marissa Reynolds Memorial Fan
Jessica Ellen King Memorial Student Fan
Dan Gruenberg Dockworker
Ricky S. Lewis Bar Scene Band Member
Sammie Denton Memorial Student Fan
Sophia Mayer Pliner Birthday Guest
Erik-Jan Pliner Mourner
Cameron Blunt Soccer Player
Andrea Leyva Student
Ana Cristina Mayer Birthday Guest

Technical Credits
Gavin O'Connor Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Madison Ainley Executive Producer
Mark Ciardi Executive Producer
Jason Cloth Executive Producer
Kaitlyn Taaffe Cronholm Executive Producer
Keith P. Cunningham Production Designer
Robert J. Dohrmann Executive Producer
Cindy Evans Costumes/Costume Designer
Jacqueline Fernandez Makeup
Aaron L. Gilbert Executive Producer
Eduard Grau Cinematographer
Gordon Gray Producer
Brad Ingelsby Executive Producer,Screenwriter
Jamie Marshall Asst. Director
Akiko Matsumoto Makeup
Kevin McCormick Executive Producer
Ravi Mehta Producer
Steven A. Morrow Sound Mixer
Wendy O'Brien Casting
David Rosenbloom Editor
Bradley Rubin Art Director
Rob Simonsen Score Composer
Cale Thomas Makeup
Jennifer Todd Producer

Customer Reviews