The Secret Ways

The Secret Ways

Richard Widmark
Director: Phil Karlson Cast: Richard Widmark
Richard Widmark
, Sonja Ziemann
Sonja Ziemann
, Charles Regnier
Charles Regnier
Phil Karlson

DVD (Subtitled)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24


Shortly after Soviet tanks crush the 1956 Hungarian uprising, adventurer for hire Mike Reynolds (Richard Widmark) goes to communist Budapest to rescue one of the revolt's leaders, Professor Jansci. There's just one big problem; the professor doesn't want to go. While the plot is minimal, this simple actioner conveyed the dark atmosphere of Cold-War Hungary very well -- and it gave American audiences their first look at a ravishing young Senta Berger.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/27/2020
UPC: 0738329250911
Original Release: 1961
Rating: NR
Source: Kl Studio Classics
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:52:00
Sales rank: 19,889

Special Features

Audio commentary by film historians Howard S. Berger and Steve Mitchell; Theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Richard Widmark Michael Reynolds
Sonja Ziemann Julia Jansci
Charles Regnier The Count
Walter Rilia Prof. Jansci
Howard Vernon Col. Hidas
Senta Berger Elsa
Heinz Moog Minister Sakenov
Oskar Wegrostek The fat man
Stefan Schnabel Border official
Helmuth Janatsch Janos
John Horsley Jon Bainbridge
Raul Retzer Special Agent
Adi Berber Sandor
Jochen Brockmann the Commandant
René Kolldehoff Actor
Hubert VonMeyerinck Hermann Sheffler
Elisabeth Neumann-Viertel Olga

Technical Credits
Phil Karlson Director
Leo Bei Costumes/Costume Designer
Mutz Greenbaum Cinematographer
Jean Hazelewood Screenwriter
Alistair MacLean Screenwriter
Rudolf Ohlschmiddt Makeup
Werner Schlichting Art Director
Isabella Schlichting Art Director
Bob Simmons Stunts
Aaron Stell Editor
Richard Widmark Producer
John Williams [composer] Score Composer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Secret Ways
1. Chapter 1 [10:24]
2. Chapter 2 [10:21]
3. Chapter 3 [7:10]
4. Chapter 4 [11:09]
5. Chapter 5 [17:39]
6. Chapter 6 [12:01]
7. Chapter 7 [12:16]
8. Chapter 8 [12:59]
9. Chapter 9 [9:08]
10. Chapter 10 [8:47]

Customer Reviews