The Rake's Progress (Glyndebourne)

The Rake's Progress (Glyndebourne)

Miah Persson
Director: John Cox, François Roussillon Cast: Miah Persson
Miah Persson
, Topi Lehtipuu
Topi Lehtipuu
John Cox, François Roussillon,

DVD (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, April 6

Product Details

Release Date: 01/31/2012
UPC: 0809478010623
Original Release: 2010
Source: Bbc / Opus Arte
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo, Digital Theater Systems]
Time: 2:20:00
Sales rank: 57,574

Special Features

Behind The Rake's Progress; An Introduction to The Rake's Progress; Cast Gallery

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Rake's Progress
1. Opening Credits [1:49]
2. Prelude [:28]
3. The Woods Are Green [4:43]
4. The Old Fool! [2:37]
5. Tom Rakewell? [3:10]
6. I Wished But Once [3:26]
7. Farewell for now [5:14]
8. With Air Commanding [2:23]
9. Come, Tom [4:35]
10. Love, too frequently betrayed [6:02]
11. No word from Tom - Has love no voice? [1:52]
12. Quietly, night [3:23]
13. I Go to Him [2:57]
14. Vary the song, Ol London, change! [2:47]
15. O Nature, green unnatural mother [4:01]
16. Master, are you alone? [2:12]
17. In youth the panting slave [2:07]
18. My tale shall be told [4:00]
19. How strange! Although the heart [3:41]
20. Anne! Here! [3:18]
21. Could It Then Have Been Known [2:53]
22. I Have Not Run Away, Dear Heart [2:37]
23. As I Was Saying [2:18]
24. Scorned! Abused! [1:29]
25. My Heart Is Cold [3:15]
26. Thank To This Excellent Device [3:56]
27. Ruin. Disaster. Shame [1:58]
28. Do You Know Where Tom Rakewell Is? [1:14]
29. Ladies, Both Fair and Gracious [1:34]
30. Who Hears Me, Knows Me [3:44]
31. Sold! Annoyed! [2:00]
32. You Love Him, Seek To Set Him Right [4:02]
33. I Go To Him [1:58]
34. Prelude [1:53]
35. How Dark and Dreadful is This Place [5:15]
36. Well, then - My Heart is Wild [6:31]
37. I Burn, I Burn! I Freeze! [1:54]
38. With Roses Crowned [1:23]
39. Prepare Yourselves, Heroic Shades [3:21]
40. There He Is [1:13]
41. I Have Waited for Thee So Long [4:28]
42. Gently, Little Boat [3:01]
43. Anne, My Dear [2:31]
44. Where Art Thou, Venus? [3:18]
45. Mourn for Adonis [1:17]
46. Good People, Just a Moment [2:29]
47. Curtain Calls [2:06]
48. End Credits [1:26]

Customer Reviews

The Rake's Progress (Glyndebourne) 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
DanClarino More than 1 year ago
Stravinsky’s A Rake’s Progress is based on a libretto by W.H. Auden which, in turn, is based on the series of satirical prints by English artist and engraver William Hogarth from1735. In concept, Hogarth’s work was the earliest form of “graphic novel” and his artwork is largely pen and ink line drawing. The storyline itself is a pretty easy to follow “morality play”. The principal character, the young Tom Rakewell, is a young, good looking free spirit who is attracted to Anne Trulove and wishes to marry her. Anne’s father questions Tom’s lack of professional determination and displays some paternal hesitancy about Tom’s desires. Enter a courier, Nick Shadow, with the news that Tom’s all but forgotten uncle has passed away; leaving Tom a great fortune. Shadow takes Tom to London to sign paperwork to inherit his new wealth but, along the way, Nick introduces Tom to the distractions of the big city; including prostitutes, clothiers and many other earthly sources of blowing his money. In a critical – and highly symbolic and satirical – scene Anne tracks down Tom who ends up rebuking her by announcing that he is marrying Baba the Turk who seduces well but is also a bearded lady who is quite possessive! Tom ends up challenging Nick Shadow to win back Anne and start over in a card game that Tom does end up winning. Nick – who we infer is actually the Devil – gets revenge by making Tom insane. Rakewell spends his last days in an asylum thinking that he is Adonis and that his lost love, Anne, is Venus. He dies poor, loveless and witless. Hogarth used lithography as a medium to make social points (having written and drawn other such stories like “A Harlot’s Progress” and “The Stages of Cruelty”). Auden’s libretto uses the same approach but with a little more humor; coming mainly from the Baba character. Stravinsky’s opera was not an initial success and is still performed only sparingly. Seen as too “modern” for the 1953 Sussex crowd it was written for; too “conservative” for those expecting Stravinsky the modernist. This production is quite good, though, and invites revisiting the opera as one of Stravinsky’s greatest achievements. Musically, this is Stravinsky in neo-Baroque form with echoes of Pulcinella and Apollon Musagête throughout. There are some very nice arias for Anne and Tom that certainly do resemble Rameau more than Puccini. The score is crisp and accented and attractive but spare. Written in three acts from nine scenes taken from the Hogarth prints, the play moves compactly and nothing lingers any longer than plot acuity demands. Musically, I feel this is a different Stravinsky from The Firebird to be sure but beautiful and attention keeping none the less. The performances in this production are terrific. All principals in this fairly small cast are great but special kudos go to the young Finnish tenor, Topi Lehtipuu, as a nearly idiomatic Tom Rakewell and to Matthew Rose as the slimy and convincing Nick Shadow. The forces of the London Philharmonic (downsized) and the Glyndebourne Chorus play wonderfully under the young Russian and LPO music director Vladimir Jurowski. Juroswki’s conducting is captivating unto itself with an angularity but crisp clarity that befit this music perfectly. The production by renowned artist David Hockney is another reason to check out this production. Commissioned by John Cox in 1975, the set, costumes and backdrop all look – as Cox admits – a bit “off-kilter” but in a visually a