The One and Only, Genuine, Original Family Band

The One and Only, Genuine, Original Family Band

Walter Brennan
Director: Michael O'Herlihy Cast: Walter Brennan
Walter Brennan
, Buddy Ebsen
Buddy Ebsen
, John Davidson
John Davidson
Michael O'Herlihy


$13.49 $14.99 Save 10% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $14.99. You Save 10%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Set in 1888, this tuneful fact-based Disney production concerns the attempts of a musically talented family of Dakota pioneers -- who are politically divided on the upcoming presidential election -- to wrangle an invite to that year's Democratic convention in cosmopolitan St. Louis. Incumbent Grover Cleveland is attempting to win his second straight election and is challenged by Benjamin Harrison. The results are that Cleveland won the popular vote, but Harrison won the electoral vote to be declared President of the United States. Cleveland would win the next election to become the only President to ever serve two non-consecutive terms. Walter Brennan, Buddy Ebsen, Janet Blair, Richard Deacon, Wally Cox, John Davidson and Leslie Ann Warren round out the adult cast. Along with the moppets, they sing and dance to espouse their political allegiances to the candidate of their choice. Look closely for Goldie Hawn in her first film role as a laughing chorine.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/06/2004
UPC: 0786936234299
Original Release: 1968
Rating: G
Source: Walt Disney Video
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:50:00
Sales rank: 25,729

Special Features

Feature commentary with Lesley Ann Warren, John Davidson and Richard Sherman; The Family Band album; French and Spanish subtitles; Dolby Digital Mono sound; Fullscreen (1.33:1)

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Walter Brennan Grandpa Bower
Buddy Ebsen Papa Bower
John Davidson Joe Carder
Lesley Ann Warren Alice Bower
Janet Blair Mama Bower
Kurt Russell Sidney Bower
Steve Harmon Ernie Stubbins
Richard Deacon Charlie Wrenn
Wally Cox Wampler
Debbie Smith Lulu Bower
Bobby Riha Mayo Bower
Smitty Wordes Nettie Bower
Heidi Rook Rose Bower
John Walmsley Quinn Bower
Pamelyn Ferdin Laura Bower
John Craig Frank
William Woodson Henry White
Goldie Hawn Giggly Girl
Jonathan Kidd Telegrapher

Technical Credits
Michael O'Herlihy Director
Bill Anderson Producer
Herman A. Blumenthal Art Director
Carroll Clark Art Director
Hal G. Gausman Set Decoration/Design
Lowell S. Hawley Original Story,Screenwriter
Gordon Hubbard Makeup
Chuck Keehne Costumes/Costume Designer
Emile Kuri Set Decoration/Design
Harold Lewis Sound/Sound Designer
Frank Phillips Cinematographer
Richard M. Sherman Score Composer
Robert B. Sherman Score Composer
Emily Sundby Costumes/Costume Designer
Bill Thomas Costumes/Costume Designer
Cotton Warburton Editor

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Opening/The Family Band [4:40]
2. "The Happiest Girl Alive" [9:13]
3. "Oh Benjamin Harrison" [11:43]
4. Mr. Carder [10:08]
5. Off to Dakota [8:00]
6. The Party Line [9:11]
7. "Bout Time" [4:02]
8. A Lesson in Politics [13:28]
9. A Trip to the Woodshed [1:51]
10. The Board Meeting [5:55]
11. Election Night [9:15]
12. A Time for Making Up/End Credits [14:07]

Customer Reviews