The Man in the Iron Mask

The Man in the Iron Mask

Director: Mike Newell Cast: Richard Chamberlain, Louis Jourdan, Denis Lawson

Blu-ray (Wide Screen / Bonus DVD / Subtitled)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23


The made-for-television The Man in the Iron Mask was, at the very least, the twelfth film version of Alexandre Dumas' novel The Vicomte of Bragelonne: Ten Years Later - the second sequel to his Three Musketeers. The title character is Philippe (Richard Chamberlain), claimant to the throne of France. Supporters of Philippe's vile twin brother, King Louis XIV (also Chamberlain), kidnap Philippe, lock him in a dungeon, and obscure his identity with an iron mask. But aging D'Artagnan (Louis Jourdan), who'd virtually raised Philippe from boyhood, reunites his old musketeer cohorts to rescue Philippe, overthrow the wicked Louis, and place the "rightful heir" on the throne. Emmy nominations went to scripter William Bast and costumer Olga Lehmann. Photographed by the great Freddie Young, Man in the Iron Mask was first telecast January 17, 1977

Product Details

Release Date: 10/08/2013
UPC: 0759731710725
Original Release: 1977
Source: Henstooth Video
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:45:00
Sales rank: 1,957

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Richard Chamberlain Louis XIV
Louis Jourdan D'Artagnan
Denis Lawson Claude
Esmond Knight Armand
Godfrey Quigley Baisemeaux
Vivien Merchant Queen Maria Theresa
Patrick McGoohan Fouquet
Terry Richards Thug
Ralph Richardson Colbert de Voliere
Max Amyl Andre
Brenda Bruce Anna of Austria
Jenny Agutter Louise
Emrys James Percerin
Ian Holm Duval
John Cording Jailor
Hugh Fraser Montfleury
Allyn Ferguson Conductor

Technical Credits
Mike Newell Director
William Bast Screenwriter
Allyn Ferguson Score Composer
Norman Rosemont Producer
Wally Schneiderman Makeup
Roy Stevens Associate Producer
John Stoll Production Designer
Freddie Young Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Man in the Iron Mask
1. Start [10:38]
2. The Palace [9:17]
3. Kept Waiting [9:19]
4. Seclusion [8:53]
5. King's Costume [9:57]
6. Rescued [10:30]
7. Twins [10:33]
8. Sun King [9:26]
9. Switch [6:01]
10. A Meeting [7:40]
11. The Ball [11:27]
12. End Credits [1:39]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews